You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit CEO, Ned Scott, Interviewed On Bloomberg

in #steemit6 years ago

i was wondering if it were just me or if the markets experienced a near 30 cent drop in STEEM/USD right about the time, or shortly thereafter, that Ned was speaking. I thought he did a good job of correcting some of the questions with his answers, but I wasn't as happy with his insistence that STEEM is a speculative asset just like any other cryptocurrency. I know it's true, but I wished he would have found a different way to phrase it or at least redirected the question to some of the other points he made about its utility.

What I found quite interesting is that one of the comments had a straw man statement like, "What do you say to some who think the quality on Steemit is low and that users are only their to make a quick buck?" It was almost as if the ongoing complaints and quarrels we have here on site was played out word for word.

Sort:  

I know it's true, but I wished he would have found a different way to phrase it or at least redirected the question to some of the other points he made about its utility.

I don't think it would be good for him to stress too much on the "intrinsic" value of STEEM, because, as you said, it is a speculative asset right now. In order for STEEM to be presented as more than just that, it would need bigger adoption and usage, especially in e-commerce. For that, you will need a stable coin, which is SBD, which is now far away from the peg.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64266.51
ETH 3121.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.08