The Top Five Most Relevant Witnesses On Steemit? Good Question

in #steemit6 years ago

Note—This is the fourth day of @dragosroua's May 30 Days Writing Challenge. If you'd like to participate and for the rules, please click here. Today's topic:

What Are The Top 5 Most Relevant Witnesses On Steemit?

Where To Begin

I hope others are having an easier time with this topic than I am. Mainly, because I've spent more time thinking about it than I've been able to spend actually writing it. I think the reason for that is my knowledge of the witnesses, who they are, what they do, is just enough that I know that there's tons more that I don't know about any of that than I actually do know.

And that frustrates me.

chris-b-229247-unsplash.jpg
Image source

This is me, on a epic quest to find my top five relevant witnesses. Join me, will you?

I like information. I like knowing what's going on. I can get obsessive with it if I don't watch it. Especially when my investments and potential livelihood are at stake. The more I know, the more I feel I can make proper decisions. I like making good decisions. When it comes to voting for witnesses, with a couple of exceptions, it feels like I'm throwing darts in the dark.

Here We Go

Frankly, I don't personally know any witnesses. I haven't spent hours and hours chatting with any of them on Discord, or wherever else they may hang out. I would imagine they have better things to be doing, too, then hanging out with me or however other many users there might be. At least, I hope such is the case. I'm told what they do—sometimes by they themselves—is very important.

And to the degree that I'm capable of understanding it, I agree. Witnessing blocks, making sure they're valid, not corrupted, etc., is important work. It's what validates the STEEM blockchain.

I also understand there's more that these witnesses do to prove to us their worth as witnesses and therefore deserving of the compensation some receive. Or something like that. In some cases what witnesses do entails much more than just witnessing blocks. A lot of it is behind the scenes development work, providing apps and tools that can make my time on Steemit more informative and perhaps more efficient.

I've been told that witnesses are invaluable because without them, I wouldn't have a place I could blog and potentially be rewarded for it. There would be no STEEM, therefore, no Steemit, et al.

I guess I believe that to the extent that witnessing of the blocks is important. I guess I can also believe it because with each witness, decentralization increases, and so does the potential security of the blockchain. Something happens in one part of the world, there's witness nodes running elsewhere to keep things going.

There's probably much more to it than that. This isn't supposed to be a post about what witnesses do, but it is supposed to be about which of them are the most relevant. And for them to be relevant, be it to Steemit, to others and/or myself, I need to demonstrate what I do know, or more to the point, what I don't know.

What Is Relevant

Does working on projects that help Steemit users access information about what they're doing as well as others constitute relevance? Especially ones that may or may not be very important to the safety and security of the system, but that most users rarely know about or see? For all I know, the answer is a resounding yes. Those kinds of witnesses are very relevant. The problem is, I don't know. And while I'm ultimately responsible for what I know and don't know and can't blame my ignorance on anything or anyone else, I also have to pick and choose where I spend my time.

And for the most part, other than some forays out onto the blockchain to track down witness declarations or other pertinent information, the majority of my time is spent here, on Steemit, posting, commenting and curating.

So, guess what I find relevant? Whether or not I can intuitively and conveniently continue to post, comment and curate, and who I might be able to civilly and constructively (and have some fun in the process) engage with.

In other words, a witness could literally be the Atlas of STEEM, carrying the entire blockchain on their shoulders, but if I don't have a chance to interact with them in the day to day, or have a way of finding that out as I'm curating posts, I'm probably not going to know it. And even then, I'm probably going to lack the technical expertise to really understand the significance of it, let alone give it its proper due.

So What Does That Mean?

To be honest, it means out of sight, out of mind. If you're not regularly publishing posts, commenting or curating, I don't know you're there. And if you're only posting a witness update or other technical node code, I'm probably not keeping up with it.

I didn't get on Steemit to learn every last thing about the blockchain or what witnessing means. I didn't come here so I could intelligently articulate how best to guard against Sybil attacks. I'm here to post, comment and curate. If others want to know about that stuff, very good. Have at it. If you being a witness helps me to do what I want to do, awesome. Please continue, even if I'm not going to know what it is you're doing or ever have the desire or capacity to fully understand it. I readily admit that it is a relatively thankless job where I'm concerned. I'm sorry about that, to the extent that I can be.

All of what I've said leads to this: relevance to me is what I can understand and perceive. That means I need witnesses doing something on Steemit where I can see it. Which means, what they do as witnesses has less impact on me than how they help my time here on Steemit be as pleasant, as productive and as profitable as possible.

My Top Five-ish (Finally! Wait. What?)

I'm just going to start with you, @dragosroua. You've made this tough for many of us, I believe, not to include you, and certainly for me. I say this not because you are a witness, or because of what you might do with steem.supply or any other dev work. I say it, because you are posting, commenting and curating everyday, and that helps me do the same. You have posts that are informative, that are mostly of interest to me, and that I can come up with something relatively intelligent to say. I know I can depend on you not to waste my time, and I can also depend on you to give me information that I might not even know I should have. I appreciate your patience, guidance and dedication. I can see what you are doing and I wholeheartedly approve of it.

I can see what @curie and @ocd-witness do every day. I've been a recipient of their curation trail a few times and I'm appreciative of that. It's good to have some level of validation of what you're doing is worthwhile and valued. And the rewards accompanying it are necessary to demonstrate that value. I've heard you do more than that, but that's what I regularly see and I hope you will find the way to continue on. You both touch a lot of us here because of what you do.

I have to throw in @steemcommunity, though they are very new to witnessing. Both @abh12345 and @paulag have been instrumental in providing me an outlet I needed—The Curation and Engagement Leagues. To me, it doesn't get much more relevant than that. I already talked about the leagues in yesterday's post, so I won't say anymore other than I meant what I wrote then and leave it at that.

I will add, though, that through posts and interactions and your actions, I believe you see the way forward for STEEM the same way I do.

I'm not sure if I have a number five. I've voted for 19 witnesses for one reason or another, some of it with full heart, others not so much, and I will probably change that and expand to the full 30 as I learn more and see what witnesses are doing.

You Can't Come Up With Five?

Nope. I guess that means I have a vacancy. Anyone want to fill it? 🤔 You know how, and you know where I'll be.

Sort:  

Great write up Glen and I agree with your picks as well especially Curie, OCD and Utopian. These makes suere that the platform is not just pay to play

Of course you would have Asher's witness because we are community minded people.

I didn't pick Utopian, but I don't know enough about what they do to have an opinion. I hear good things about them, too. And I do have a spot available for the top five, so I guess I need to do some more investigating.

Shouldn't all witnesses be community minded? I mean, isn't what's good for us ultimately going to be good for whoever might not be in the 'community'? Maybe we need to expand our definition of community. The us and them mentality, whoever dreamed that up, isn't working.

Ack...I came here looking for guidance and find you in a similar position as myself. I only have a couple I have voted for. The few others I had voted for are either doing things I don't find beneficial to the long term viability of the platform (although I get the impression they are doing it innocently) to some are outright scammers, so I took those votes back.

I really know little about the witnesses. I had one send me a memo in my wallet asking for my vote, I went to their latest post and asked what they were doing for the platform for me to vote for them and they never replied. No vote for you (doing the soup nazi from Seinfeld there).

I haven't heard of most of the choices in the top 50, and those higher than that not sure how one even sees who they are.

While this can't be good for the platform, I am glad I am not alone in not knowing who would be a good choice for most of my picks.

I'm sorry I wasn't more informative there. I thought about just naming the witnesses I do have some contact with and be done with it, but I couldn't. Mainly, because where I'm at and where you are at is where a lot of users are at. It may very well be the majority position.

I don't know how familiar you are with the steemian.info site, but among the information there is the list of currently active and nonactive witnesses 1-400. There are more, but the farther you go the more inert they get. You can get all kinds of information regarding actual block witnessing, but if you want at least some idea of what the particular witness does or thinks is important, there are links (fourth column in from their names with an icon that looks like a link) to the respective witness declarations or blogs.

That's about as comprehensive and one stop as it gets, I'm afraid, and obviously, I haven't been through them all. I've mainly been piecing things together through posts and comments I come across and then revamping as I go as much of the linked stuff is older and may not actually reflect what they think now.

Wow, thanks for the link. I didn't know this site existed (the list of complimentary sites I become aware of just continues to grow). I do think some of this is rigged as the votes for witness is weighted the same as the votes we cast here. This basically ensures if a few of the top witnesses begin voting one another (like the voting circles you see here) they would be almost impossible to replace.

While I do lean towards the idea that aristocracy is good, its failure point time and again is when it is unearned and you have corrupt/greedy people take over the leadership positions.

There does appear to be some vote for vote going on among the witnesses, which shouldn't be happening, but a lot of them aren't relatively large in SP, which means there are non-witness Orcas and Whales who are pushing their weight around. So, I agree, due to the weighted system, to get into the top 20, anyway, you need to find favor with the higher SP. Which means you're doing something more than witnessing blocks or posting on Steemit. You need to be doing something to bring money in. That may be a tad harsh or cynical, but I can't see how it wouldn't be true.

I appreciate that you didn't just jump right into your Top Five (four) witnesses, but you explained your thought process and what was important to you. I'm happy and surprised (although I shouldn't be too surprised) that you had the same basic criterion that I did: engagement. You chose people who were about building community and engaging with followers. I think that's something that witnesses should note. Yes, we use apps, but we need the human connection. We need to have people to talk with. If there aren't people here, then it all shuts down. I'm glad you recognize that. It gets pretty lonely out here if all we have is bots. :)

I'm not a witness, so I'm not going to try to get your vote. Hopefully one will come along who sees that you have open spots. I still do, but I'm not getting courted, so don't hold your breath.

I surprised you're suprised (though not too surprised) that I chose who I chose. And I would actually point out that the people I chose aren't just all about engagement, which is important, but about the welfare and long term health of the STEEM ecosystem. It's the whole enchilada, not just an aspect of it. Where they do a lot of their work might have to do with curation and engagement, but it's all done with a greater purpose.

Okay, stepping away from the Kool-Aid. Not sure what came over me there.

Yeah, I pretty much figured my parting shot wouldn't go very far, but hey, whatchagonnado?

Ha ha, yeah, I get your point. For me, engagement is one of the main things that is going to make Steem successful. You can have all the cool gadgets you want, but if there's no one around to use them, your price isn't going anywhere. I do think those are still good choices though and they'll help the long-term growth.

Parting shots of Kool-Aid? Still a little early in the day for that. :D

Not sure what you put in your Kool-Aid, but I can drink mine anytime.

Actually, I can't think of the last time I actually drank Kool-Aid. Do they even still make it? I can't even say I've seen a commercial for a while.

That and Tang. Do they still make that? What about Sunny D? My wife used to bring that home but I haven't seen it either. Straight up OJ now, whassupwiththat?

It might be because our boys left and she didn't think I needed the extra sugar or whatever stuff they jazz it up with. Always thinking about me, she is. :)

Oh, I can actually drink my Kool-Aid any time. It has water and water in it. That's my favorite drink (as measured by volume consumed).

I cant' remember the last time I had actual Kool-Aid either. I imagine they still sell it as it was highly popular and nostalgia has a powerful affect on people. I don't know if they advertise. I don't watch many ads.

I did drink Tang when I was hiking. I would have one bottle of that and one of water. I'd normally go through the Tang first. I never drank Sunny D. It was just sugar water. I like orange juice. I prefer it with a bunch of pulp, but I defer to the wife who likes it without the floaties.

That sounds like your wife is looking out for you. There is a lot of added sugar in most of our foods. Even Greek Yogurt has a bunch of added sugar. It baffles me why someone would want to eat that much of it, but it makes sense for the companies. According to a doctor I went to, sugar is 80 times as addicting as cocaine. (I've never tried cocaine, so can't compare.) If the company adds it to their product and it makes your brain happy, you're more likely to buy it again, even if it's not good for you. I think that's the idea at least.

Yeah. I'm happy to report that she loves me (at least for now) for more than just the life insurance. :)

I've heard about the sugar addiction deal, but it's not banned, so there must be more money in sugar than in cocaine, which is hard to believe, since we have an ongoing war on it. However, I guess if the government isn't taxing it, you have to wage war on it, or ban it, but if the government can regulate and tax it, keep it.

I honestly don't pay that much attention to how much sugar goes into things. There's so much of some kind of sugar in nearly everything we eat that we'd end up eating primarily vegetables, and not the ones everyone likes to eat, either. I know there's different kinds of sugars, and some are better and naturally occurring, but it's still sugar. Carbs break down into a form of sugar. Fruits, lots of sugar. I think by the time it's all said and done you're down to some celery, kale, and maybe some parsley. :) I'd add Romaine lettuce but that apparently can kill you quicker. :)

When that life insurance money starts looking more attractive, watch out! Ha ha.

I believe the sugar lobby is very strong in the USA. That's probably one of the reasons. And I imagine there are a lot of taxes on it to help compensate for the tariffs on incoming sugar.

I find myself eating more and more vegatables as I continue to find the high levels of sugar in foods that don't need them. Yeah, it's more the added sugar that i try to stay away from. And things like apple juice which is just sugar water with all the fiber removed.

I think the Romaine lettuce thing was e coli related, but I think that is done with. Besides, what are your other options? Green leaf and spinach? :)

Thanks for that rundown. I believe in voting, in a civic sense, but I don't believe in voting blindly. You've given me some good witness candidates to check out. Basically, I blog and curate. The mechanics behind crypto are obscure for me (as are the mechanics behind fiat currency). We need dependable watchdogs (witnesses?) to keep the machinery running smoothly. I think it's obvious that some players on Steemit don't operated in a way that benefits the community. Is it not the role of witnesses to check this behavior?
A few of the witnesses you mention I have voted for already. Others are now on my list.

I'm not entirely sure I'm qualified to answer the question about what the witnesses are to do beyond witnessing blocks. I do believe there is more they could do if they chose to. I think some are more apt to get involved in certain situations than others.

In the brief time I've been here, I've seen some take their own initiative, others seek and build consensus, and the rest pretty much remain neutral or more involved with their own behind-the-scenes work. It really takes time to try to see all of what's going on, and I'm afraid that I haven't reached that point yet.

And, as I alluded to in the post, I'm not looking to go to far afield to do it.

I think these posts are definitely helping us all to get to know a few more witnesses and also to consider what is important for us. Even voting for a few puts you way ahead of most people here on Steemit...

I agree. For what it's worth, anyway. Like a lot of other things around here, SP matters, and so the larger SP users have a lot of say as to who's in the top 20 plus one. That's not to say that we can't have a say, but it's not very democratic right now. I believe though, the more we know, the more we can change, and overtime, our SP will grow until we're more influential. If we've been a part of the process, learning it incrementally, I think that's way better than just doing what we do and then being blindsided with whatever changes. Not easy to keep up, though. Things tend to get scattered around here. :)

Well, there is also the mass factor. Many smaller SP accounts add up. But pretty much everything on here is linked to the almighty SP...

I do believe in a mass factor. I'm just not sure if it's through SP the mass factor shows up. But it could show up in other ways, like more and more people reducing their usage of bidbots or delegation leasing. I don't know how that happens en masse, but no one needs SP to walk away from those things. You probably need something worth more than SP: knowledge and action.

Don't think that is going to happen. So many people on here make most of their payouts through bit bots. and are teaching it in courses as the way to succeed.
Bitbots are here to stay and are part of the business side of Steemit.
Personally, I only use the ones which are geared towards minnows and give you a guaranteed upvote. Not really bitbots. but bots. like tundercurator and qustodian. I don't feel like playing the game of knowing when to bit and whn not to. And I don't have enough money to afford to lose any...

Yeah, I know. It would require more organization and centralization of information than what's currently available. And since there's not a whole lot of incentive to do it (meaning rewards), it would be all volunteer to try to implement something like that.

I don't think most of us who haven't at least reached the size of a dolphin have enough to regularly afford bots, and even then, not to any great magnitude. That's just it. If you have to get to the trending page to be seen, but you can't get to the top without 100s of SBD, then what really is it doing, other than providing a little bit of rewards for the author and curator?

I'm not giving up on no bots yet. I don't know how they go away, though. I'm just stubborn. :)

hahaha - stubborn is good here. To keep on keeping on :)

I never look at the trending page. People are either there because the had money to buy votes or they are the ones who started a long time ago and have tons of people sucking up to them. So, my vote is not going to make a difference to them or to me in curation rewards. and they won't notice me either.
I do follow people who make it to the trending page, but I came across them somewhere else.... :)

I can't quite figure out who all is supposed to be looking at the trending page, other than those who routinely check it so they can complain, and new users. That's got to be it. The rest of us know what it is and don't waste our time. So, the ones who have to be perpetuating the myth of getting to the trending page must be the bot owners and some of the heavy users because they're the ones who have a vested interest in their perpetuation.

At some point, I'd hope they'd just end up spending their money on themselves and eventually have a net loss because no one really wants to know how much they think their own posts are worth.

I really liked your view on witnesses. I disagree with seeing and talking to them on discord. The ones that do bring up the importance of what they all do for us.

Until I joined Discord I had no idea what a witness even was. I want Steemit to be here a long while so found myself slowly learning about who and what they do.

when I got finished writing mine I realized I forgot about Curie but already had my top five in my head when writing mine.

You gave me things to think about. Thank you!

If I'm understanding you correctly, you've been able to learn about witnesses on Discord and find out some things about what they do. I'm not sure if that's something everyone has had a lot of success with, but I'd say it's good that you did. While there's plenty of posts about witnesses and what they do, a lot can get lost here, depending on where you spend your time.

I personally found about witnesses within the first week of being on Steemit because I ran into a few with their posts. From there I've been learning a little more. So, Discord is a great tool, I use it for GINAbot, but my main focus is posting, commenting and curating, not trying to message back and forth with anyone.

yes, I did get to know them all through Discord. The five I wrote about. You might, if you have time, want to see the post as it explains a bit how it all happened.

I'm a more social person due to my natural nature and not being afraid to ask someone, no matter who you are, a question........and have been known to offer advice to people that I think might be open to it. Most, I have to say are or have been.

I do not spend all my time on discord as it will suck up a whole day but from the friendships I have made there, I have learned more about how Steem(it) REALLY works.

If not for Discord I would still be in the dark about Witnesses and a ton of other things so yes, it's a great tool you just have to know how to use it and not get sucked down into the rabbit hole and not be able to find your way out.

One thing I do is if I'm on Steemit and reading and commenting that means I'm not on Discord. If you are you will never get anything done on Steemit........just what I found works for me.

I have learned more about how Steem(it) REALLY works.

Well, now you have me curious. :) How does Steem(it) REALLY work?

HA!!!!!!!!!!! it's a lot more complex than I ever thought it was LOLL

It was a real eye-opener when I joined The Alliance and had a group of great Steemians around me to listen to, ask questions to and be treated with respect in all things plus have a ton of fun in the Castle with fellow Alliance members.

It just depends on how deep do you want to go.......and does it really matter to you if you are happy doing what you are doing now.

But sorry to say I'm not the right person to answer your question in a coherent manner...... and I'm not blowing you off on the question just I know my limits of explaining things of this nature and ...... this is NOT what I am any good at.

a few points to ask your friends about would be

  • botwars

  • dead witnesses

and more but......can not think of them right now loll sorry

No worries. I find myself doing the same thing, even on topics I was reasonably adept at explaining. Things change, and there always seems to be another nuance added.

Botwars and dead witnesses. Okay. And which friends am I asking? :)

uhmmmm...........the friends that told you to get on Discord? orrrrrrrr hmmmmmmm read up on The Alliance and put in an application and you will have plenty of people to ask any question too :D

Nice pick of witnesses you support , these persons has contributed greatly to the success of this platform in their various ways.

I believe they have. I hope not every witness has to be a dev in order to be a good one. There's some technical know how required, but if everyone is a dev, or mainly involved in that end, it seems to me a lot can be left under represented. In my personal experience working as a liaison between a dev group and end users, the needs of both groups are not always aligned. So, it's good to have more of a diversified group of folks that can then bring all concerns from all parties to the table.

Hey, you know a witness. Me :D

All of my votes go to people in the following categories:

  • I know them :) That's the vast majority of mine.
  • I use something they have made.

No other reasons :)

They all contribute to Steemit in some form or another, so it's not empty votes in my opinion.

I do know you, you're right. What I didn't know, or maybe forgot, was that you'd become a witness

Okay, I just checked. You're listed, but it's showing you're offline. Is that right? There sure are a lot of inactive ones.

I took a look at your witness votes, too. I'll have to check out some of them because I don't know who they are. That's cool you know them. I think we all use a lot of things witnesses have created. And I agree there's value to that. I guess we all have our ideas as to what value is. Which is good. If voting for witnesses worked the way it should, that is. Now, we're dependent on high SP accounts to show some diversity. I'm not sure how much of that there really is.

Nah you didn't know yet, I literally set the server up 48 hrs ago :p So I'm a noob witness :p

I won't be "active" until I produce my first block, but its all running smoothly, so hopefully I won't miss it, I'd be very upset. lol

Yeah getting the high SP votes is the big challenge, I'm fairly certain I will never be top 20, maybe not even top 100. I'm doing it for the love of it though, I like steem, and it's going to be fun and exciting playing a different part in it. :)

One thing I'm curious about is, what happens when steem has 10x, 100x the users, will there be that many more witnesses? Will it even be worth it, You need to be in the top 150 I think it is to break even on server costs. Will it be changed how they are distributed?

It will be interesting, that is for sure. :)

Ah, okay. I figured I should have known and remembered something like that. Ah, and now I see you're witness application/declaration. Very cool. Congratulations. I think. :) I'll have to read through your post. I'm slowly catching up from the weekend, but I will get to it.

Well, it's probably a Catch-22 anyway, and regardless, would take time, I imagine. There's a loyalty, longevity thing going on, along with the who you know. Which you have to a degree, right? Maybe those guys can put in a good word with someone else and next thing you know, Top 20!

I'm glad you're looking forward to it. At a quick glance, it looks like you've a decent rig. Is it your own, or do you have it set up through a host site?

I'm not entirely sure how it's supposed to work, but from what I've read, we're still relying mainly on the Top 20 plus one, but that these additional witnesses have been getting some kind of compensation simply because there's more activity. The more blocks being created and at faster rates, the more need for witnesses to verify them, right?

It seems to me that increasing the number of paid witnesses has been happening since the beginning, just because of that increase of block creation. So, who knows, maybe at some point the amounts will get larger on the lower ends as well.

I'm not sure about changing the distribution. I'm not sure just what all the Top 20 really need, but I doubt they'd be interested in taking a 'pay cut.' So, that would mean growing the pot.

Good luck with that. You planning a post for when you witness your first post? Is it scheduled?

I rent the server, I pay with SBD, they only accept crypto.. haha, so it feels like it's free. lol :D

Every 63 seconds the top 20 and a backup produce a block, one every 3 seconds. The backup is picked based on their votes, so me at the moment will probably only produce 1 block a month. The backups get paid 5x more SP per block though. But the top 20 do over a thousand a day each. Its like 0.2 SP ish a block for them. The backups get about 0.9 SP. I've forgotten the exact amounts. lol

Yeah I don't see anyone wanting a pay cut.. :p

In about 5 days I will do an update post. Not sure what I will write yet, probably just about how far I've moved up the ranks, maybe what I have done with Steemcleaners. Who knows.. Maybe I would of done my first block, I can celebrate that.. Or cry if it's missed.. lol

Very well writen sir.. Great post

After having read yours, I'm wondering if you wouldn't mind giving me a little more detail about what you liked about mine? Except for dragosroua, we're looking at somewhat different ends of the spectrum when it comes to witnesses. I see your reasoning with yours, though, and I have to admit that there is importance behind marketing STEEM and some of the other contributions. However, I went pretty opposite to that, so I'm interested in more of your thoughts. :)

Yup we were both different ends..
According to me what i think witness was "contributing to the platform may b in form of (apps, chat platform etc) which makes free and easy asses on platform. But it doesnt make sense ri8.witness can b carrying the total responsibility of system on owns shoulder and progressively continously posting, commenting, quariting, engage the community what all u think...
I totally agree with u..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63506.20
ETH 3065.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04