What Have I Learned During My First Week Here on Steemit?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians,   

my first week here on Steemit has passed and its time to share my experience.   

It has been fun reading so much great information about this platform and I can now say that I understand all the basics. I even received my first tiny payouts for comments and both of my first posts found some readers.    

Best Tool for New Steemians 

I found SteemWorld to be the most useful tool for a Steemit beginner. There you can find all information about any Steemit account, for example:

  • real time value of you voting power
  • recharge time of your voting power
  • account transactions
  • pending or received payouts
  • upvotes received (and basically everything about your account not mentioned here)


^ SteemWorld interface

Quality of Posts

It wasn't always easy to find good quality posts I was looking for. I was surprised how often I found complete crap posts on trending page with high a lot of value votes. Sometimes even single photos. But after a while, it was easy to recognize most of bad posts even without opening then.

I know Steemit is still in beta, but better filtering system will be needed with more and more new Steemians signing up everyday.

Voting and Reward System 

Possibility of writing about what you like and getting rewarded for it or getting rewarded for curating new content is likely the reason why many people joined Steemit.

Because money is involved people also post useless crap or jump on voting train when they see someone with bigger voting pover vote on new post without even reading it. Don't tell me you can read 4 pages under a minute. 

People with biggest amount of steem power have the loudest voices and substantial influence (like people with a lot of money in real life). This isn't actually always a bad thing but what is stopping anyone from buying loads of steem power for real life money and then spreading nonsense everywhere? 

There is always that one dangerous fish with many followers following it everywhere (no matter how dangerous is the fish).

Bots

Bots are a big thing on Steemit it seems. With so many new posts it is easy for the new ones to get lost in a sea of bought upvotes.

I don't have much experience with bots yet (not counting my 0.010 SBD test) but aren't bots making manual curation harder?

Overall I can say it was a great first week.   

Thank you for reading :)  

Sort:  

Money creates shitposts in classic media too. II see no way to stop it yet. By the way great post, but punctuation!

About bots: I am sceptical too, but they are hardly profitable to use (I think), but helps you stand out. If you believe in your shit you must invest in it. Thats the way everywhere.

By the way, if you have not headertried it yet, try smartmarket. You could sell your upvote, it is really helpful since in the beginning you get mediocre curation reward.

Thank you. I definitely have to study punctuation rules for english language. My main language is czech.

On my way to smartmarket now :)

Welcome, and it looks like you're settling in nicely. My one piece of advice would be to avoid the trending page. Like you say, it's often filled with awful content, usually boosted to the top with high paying bots. It's a shame, but the best way to find good content is to follow the people you like and to check the 'new' section for the tags you enjoy. :)

Thank you - that is exactly how I look for posts now :)

Ah, bots. I'm new here too and still developing an opinion on them. Seems like they aren't going anywhere- how can you regulate away a script running on a decentralized system? I wonder if there's a update on the horizon that will provide an incentive based system for not using them.

I think it is not so decentralized, because there are centeres called witnesses. And for the bots: on the long run they help to purge out the shitposts I think. They are not profitable, only good for advertising purposes and if you advertise shit you loose money.

Forgive the unclear terminology- what I mean is the code for these bots is not running on top of the Blockchain, they are hosted on the bot owners computer, so there's no way to directly block them through a software update. How do you propose bots purge bad posts? The economics are wrong. Bots have no incentive to downvote bad posts on their own, and bot upvotes spur on indavidual upvotes in hopes of curration rewards. Am I missing something here?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64512.59
ETH 3174.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85