My Steemit account was stolen and recovered

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians

My account was stolen for some hours and now I am back. I am sorry if you got flagged or downvoted from my side.

After publishing my post, I got the first comment that says "I notice that your post was copied by < felixjaspeer > ". I was unaware of whats happening and I opened the link in the comment. I got a "Returning User Login Screen" and logged in. That was my biggest mistake and I did that in hurry without checking the address. After some seconds I lost control of my account and realized what I had done to allow this to happen :( My first mistake was that I didnt notice to where I was redirected and the second mistake was that I signed in using my main password.

binary-2170630_960_720.jpg
Image Source: www.pixabay.com

I spent hours on Discord and Steemit.chat trying to figure out a way to recover my account. @steemcleaners were so helpful and flagged the Hackers account and all other related accounts. Unfortunately I noticed that he hacked many accounts and used them to downvote users and upvote his accounts. Now I am trying to fix everything and this will take hours.

He used the accounts of many innocent users to repeatedly post his phishing link and thats what you should be aware of. He is using accounts with high reputation after stealing their money.

I recovered my account by going to the steemit menu and clicking on stolen accounts recovery. I put in my last working password and my email address. Then was directed to wait for Steemit email with the recovery link.

w.PNG

I waited for some hours and finally I got it. I am really happy that it took just some hours. I was afraid that it will take days or weeks. I was really sad to see someone hacking steemit accounts and use them to downvote others. But I am really happy to find many people who tried to support me on Steemit.chat and discord.

Now be careful! The main users involved are these:

w4.PNG

w3.PNG

@alandefong commented on my post and deleted the comment immediately after changing my password.

w1.PNG

The money in my wallet got transferred to @angela-noel and as you see they already hacked many accounts and cashed money out.

w2.PNG

Now I will be very careful with every step I do, because it is the worst feeling to see people abusing your account while you are helpless. I will follow the pattern and report all accounts involved in stealing Steemit accounts.
And my dear friends I wont upvote your posts at least for 24 hours until I gain some voting power :(

DQme43f1gVRkXJUiGKU4EQTBe9TgSPmft6AxuPFpp8aQRug.png

Sort:  

Now it makes more sense to me... Always hover over a link before clicking it... if you use chrome, the link will be displayed in the lower left of the browser, indicating whether it's safe or not...

I've had accounts hacked and physical belongings stolen as well. I hate thieves (large or small) with my whole being >:(

Seriously I thought it was a friendly bot warning me. And when I looked at the reputation (51) I didnt had any doubt. I had this experience for the first time and learned a lesson. But they are very active today :(

Ooooh really sorry to hear about that, @hanen! It happened as well to @flamingirl... What a plague! :-( It's good that you were able to track them down at least and publish screenshots as evidence

I am still following them and can see that they are active and transferring money out of Steemit. It is sad because nobody is taking action against them :(

Well... yeah... decentralization means also that ... no one really takes responsibility and no one can really DO something definite. Even if we manage to shut them down, they will just open a new account.

Yeah, I notice this becoming more and more of an issue --hackers using innocent accounts to spread their phishing links. It's a good thing steemit.com now has a sign beside links that lead away from the site. Generally, before clicking any link, even usernames, one must check the site it leads to just to be super sure. And check it well too: sleemit(dot)com, steeemit(dot)com and șteemit(dot)com all seem like the real thing at first glance.
I'm so glad you got your account back. I love your posts --they are so real and true.

If you can edit the domains for me I'll unflag you. Use sleemit(dot)com for example. Some browsers and extensions make domains clickable.

Okay... that's noted. Edited ✅. Will be more careful in future comments and posts. ☺

Yes we need to be very careful in the future. There are many of them out there :(

WARNING! The comment below by @petermarie leads to a known phishing site that could steal your account.
Do not open links from users you do not trust. Do not provide your private keys to any third party websites.

Thank you !

That person linked them to warn users what sites not to link on. I don't think the motivation behind that comment was to phish.

It is a bot and warn people automatically :)

The comment got flagged by the bot.

Hello hanen!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Thank you :)

Pay attention next time my don't click to any link anymore , you are lucky because just 2.857sbd , look some people lost more than 100sbd .

Yes I saw that and it is really sad. I hope they will recover their accounts and take action soon :(

Yes , check your account on steemvoter it doesn't work today.

Yes I wrote yesterday that I will vote again in 24h because they used all my voting power :(

unexpectedly steemit can be dropped and stolen huh? but paswordny can not be memorized and remembered.
I also never leaked my password on the discord and someone told me that my account again in retes lucky I immediately replace the password

Hackers have always a way no matter what we do :(

Yes, true
we have to be wary of that

Wow this must have been really hectic for you @hanen.

Thank goodness you recovered your account.

This scanners need to be dealt with.

Was a terrible experience and I am really glad that I recovered it before they cause any damage.

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

@alandefong commented on my post and deleted the comment immediatly after changing my password.
It should be immediately instead of immediatly.

Ah thank you ! Will fix it :)

good you had it back

Yes finally :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70190.79
ETH 3740.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69