You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is There Any Room For Short Content On Steemit?

in #steemit6 years ago

Let me start by answering your question "Is There Any Room For Short Content On Steemit?". My answer is that there better be... unless we want to stay a very small niche site.

Screen Shot 2017-11-20 at 7.57.55 AM.png

Those are the top 10 reddit categories. If "steemit" is going to be "monitized reddit" it is essential that we encourage engaging short form content.

Here's a question I have. Is our goal to create content that appeals to the community members already here (30,000 daily... I think) or are we trying to appeal to much wider audience (18,372,259 potential community members)?

As far as the quality of your posts, I think they are very funny. But that is the same problem as above. I should not be your intended audience. The 18 million should be. I haven't talked to all of those 18 million, but I have shared many of your one-liners with my family and friends and they think they are hilarious. I have not shared many long posts with them because they are too busy. I think your short material has a much better chance of getting thousands of views from the outside world than a long blog post. It is much easier to find someone who has 30 seconds to spare on a one-liner than someone with 15 minutes to spare on a long post.

Perhaps this community doesn't want to attract people with short attention spans who are insanely busy working and when they aren't working or personally interacting have too much content to choose from (TV, Movies, Netflix, internet, twitter, youtube, instagram...) but then we are saying we don't want to attract the vast majority of the human population.

Your material is very important to the site. Sometimes you need to take a "shotgun" approach with comedy. Not every single joke is going to be pure comedic gold. However, every time one of your one-liners pops up, there is a chance it will go viral. This would be good for all of us.

It is also very difficult to do what you are doing. Writing a quality, funny one-liner seems incredibly easy. So does golfing when you watch the pros do it on tv. All they are doing is swinging a club. Any cave man can do that. They barely put any effort into a putt. But it looks so easy because they have natural talent and work their asses off to make it look so easy.

By the way, I hate golf.

And one letter can make all the difference. I just noticed that I had written "I have not shared many long posts with them because they are too busty."

Sort:  

Super Agree...Well Exampled @HanShotFirst!

Someone who runs @curie, please know we need @FunnyCurie .....and while you're at it add @ReplyCurie, @MemeCurie,....and also @DownVoteCurie.... :D (We need to reward the cleaners too neh?)

Thanks a lot han, as a fellow comedy writer I know you appreciate my jokes more than most

The way this incentives are structure though might just mean I'm asking for more than the stake weighted opinion is willing to pay, which is perfectly fair enough.

You know that I was sort of borderline wanting to create content as it is at the best of times, and I can't really afford to do it for less. Perhaps if I were more talented, but at least for the time being, I might be really be able to continue producing regular content here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70910.93
ETH 3657.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76