How Is Steemit Changing - Part 2

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Account Based voting isn't coming to Steemit...
but we still may see it.

Let's look deeper into Steemit Voting.
Plus, more on Steemit communities.

I'll show you some facts in the Steemit and SMT whitepapers.
See what it means for Steemit.

Press Play For The Info:


How do you think communities and SMT's will affect Steemit in the future?
We're in some exciting times my Steem friends.

PS I'm hosting the San Francisco Steemit Meetup this month.
(almost 100 members)
If you're in the area drop by.
Get info about a new Steem phone app. Plus, tips for new & advanced Steemians.
See you there:
https://www.meetup.com/San-Francisco-Steemit-Community/events/248851356/

Bottom Rocker. Me and Ned.jpg

Sort:  

Finally got to hear Ned interview. Looking back I agree with the shortcomings of the platform. Just like they mentioned, content hasn't really become better just because there is value to be make. I see sometimes shitty posts earning a lot and great articles making no money. This is mainly because has to do more with the users and visibility than the actual individual article merit.
I also seen that the e-commerce aspect hasn't really take off as we thought last year, there was a lot of people being on having a big mall like eBay or Ali baba, but for some reason that development didn't really happened. Finally there was the notion of steemit being a savings Bank and earning 10% interest which would make it more competitive than traditional banks, eventually that wasn't sustainable and came down crashing. So yeah, I love steemit, is much better than this piece of crap Facebook, but also think there is a lot of development missing. Notifications is one, following discussions is imperative to really have engagement. More funds for development is also needed, the companies born on top of steemit like appic and viewly hasn't really took the world by storm. Even dtube has been lagging getting prime YouTubers for some reason. I wish there was more community participations, better leadership and of course better utilization of the investments at the corporate level.

They're trying to crack a pretty complicated puzzle. How to incentivize quality curation. I think communities will have a big impact. It will be easier to have relevant conversations the same way you might due in a reddit feed.

Agree. Quality in the eye of the beholder.
There is a lot of development plug-ins for steem already, it's a surprise, including steemchat and notifications. But yeah this is not made apparent to users, as in the early facebook apps.
And is Steemit going to try mixing discussion forums with microblogging? Ok, i guess. Maybe it should just focus on microblogging, and not try to be a facebook for friends and family.

Interesting post, I don't particularly like the idea of one account one vote. I however like the idea of verifying identity where one person will only be allowed one account. I think this must be done sooner than later. Currently there are already a number of people raping the system with a huge number of accounts voting for themselves!! I also think the vote buying should be stopped, this in counter productive to finding the real good content, and the voting bods are making big money in the process.
Thanks again for sharing this video.

You're right. It would be great to see some sort of account verification done on the blockchain. Their may be a solution for that at some point in the future. I imagine when blockchain Identities become a thing it will completely solve the fake account spamming.

On the vote buying front... agreed. It clearly doesnt bring the best content to the top. It brings advertisements to the top. Communities may be the solution. They can be tailored to each groups needs and wants with SMT's. It could be a huge shift. Interesting times to say the least. I'm proud to be a part of it.

I agree with you. However, the vote buying part is a touchy one. It can be unfair but it does fund the steem project. People need to realize that this is a cryptocurrency rewarded blog site. Investors get rewarded here just as with any other cryptocurrency. If you invest little and expect to get a lot, you're being unrealistic, especially if you only invest time/effort. So far, vote buying is allowed. So take advantage of it while it lasts. If the rules change later, we will adjust to them. But for now, let's all make some money. After all, this is a money-making site.

With the democratic system of voting that would be brought by SMTs, account based voting which mean one account one vote then would come to Steemit. Steemit is actually at a very interesting time and what Ned said about SMTs is quite assuring.

And I wish I could get to be in the meetup. I love meetsup. See me and my friends on one of our meet ups
C2A92DCC-475F-40C3-90C5-C47F2E81AB67.png

dear @olumideolowoyeye
very wonderful comments & followed you

hey hey cheers @olumideolowoyeye
I agree, it's reassuring to see them working on improving Steemit. A wonderful work in progress with some of the greatest minds in the world breaking ground. It's cool to be a part of it.

Yeah absolutely, I totally agree with you. This is just the beginning, the more the people , the larger the value added, the higher the investment, more innovations. I’m proud to be part of this , I don’t ever want to stand out again when I can be outstanding on steemit

Follow me on @imangwi i share news about all crypto🙏🙏

yes u also follow me

I'm so glad I'm a part of this. there's a lot to learn on here, I'm sure I would

About time we get paid for what we are worth! Check out my new channel !

Thanks for good comment , see me on @imangwi

The Oracle concept is interesting to assign one person one vote and limit gaming the system.

I have a different approach. It would a combination of what we have now and a verification level tied to stake weight and reputation.

Essentially Steemit INC does an airdrop to every account over a certain stake weight and reputation score who meet other criteria such as a certain amount of unique voting. That way the bulk of the community who is actually engaging here would become a bigger part of voting.

This would make the barrier high enough that trying to create a bot army to tap into the benefits would be unlikely.

That's a really interesting concept. I like the idea of rewarding unique voting.
The SMT whitepaper is dope and talks about all kinds of different angles. I wonder if we could build and SMT that incorporates that idea for a crypto community... just a thought.

possibly but the issue with the SMT to me is that to really fund it a person has to do an ICO or possibly if there was a killer app high powered STEEM holders could trade into it early but it might suffer from the same economics as STEEM then suddenly where a few hold enormous power and then it becomes somewhat impossible for others to catch up.

I think it will be a little more clear once SMT launch what it is capable of and if it makes sense. I think several of the projects that were thinking about the SMT are opting to just clone the code and start fresh which I understand why they are going that direction.

I think that everyone will be benefited by additional competition in the space and launching a new social media site that air drops STEEM investors who had over a certain reputation and stake weight could be beneficial as well.

Thanks for good comment, follow me on @imangwi

Great stuff bro.

Upvoted and resteemed, followed. Thanks for the clarification. SMTs and communities are the most exciting upgrades coming to Steem. If an SMT finds the perfect algo for a fair and rewarding Blockchain Social Media system that could always be ported into Steemit.com if the community agrees to. Either way SMTs are going to play a major role on the Steem blockchain. Those users complaining and leaving about votes not fair on Steemit can come back to an SMT that suits there needs. Either way its going to be a big win for Steem Power holders, since SMTs will run on top of the Steem blockchain.

It's nice to see that someone else likes this blog as much as I do. i re-steemed it too.

Mhm

Shame you can't make it out to Tennessee next week.
We are having a meetup there on the 19th and filming episodes of Hots or Shots the whole week leading up to it.

you should get more crypto legends to your show. we love them.

homesteaders too. love your show

New episode will be out today.
Later this afternoon though, as I'm actually filming an episode this morning.

All the best for your shot!

dear /@jonny-clearwater
very useful analysis & followed you

okay. thanks

Hey killer Jonny-clearwater. We I get my little RV out on the road I'll put your meetup on my list. Sounds like you've got a lot going on.

STEEM has such a bright future! I can't wait for the SMTs!

Quality is subjective if you want quality then you need editors who actually curate content before it is cleared to even start earning anything. Sometimes its good to have moderators..

ijs satoshi never mentioned decantralization in his original whitepaper.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14