You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Getting Started on Steemit - a step-by-step guide for newbies

in #steemit6 years ago

Wow. I learned a lot from this post. I never knew that the posting key can be used to log in on steemit. I thought the master key who can only do that.
The introduceyourself: I had regret about this. The 1st thing i did after getting my password from steemit is posting my introduceyourself. For me at that time is to just post and to see if steemit wasnt a scam with no follower at all, no profile and cover photo. My attached photo did not even show any proof that im a real human. Gosh if a have read this post earlier. But im sure ill recommend this to my friends joining steemit.
And especially this

Remember that the money for rewards doesn’t come from your own SP or STEEM balances. Your SP determines how much power you have to parcel out the rewards pool for the entire platform. So your stash doesn’t decrease when you upvote people.)

This is what I was just looking for yesterday. I got to encounter steemauto where we can control the value of the upvotes we're giving. I wondered why some people control the value?
It made me think that maybe by upvoting our sbd decreases. But now I know. Thanks to this post. And maybe it's bc of this that they want to control the value of their upvotes.

You can increase how often you can give money by decreasing the % you give each time using an app like SteemPlus

Good job @indigoocean! Thank you.

Sort:  

Thanks so much for you thoughtful comment. Glad to hear this has helped you and that you intend to share it with others. If you've done enough other posts, maybe do another introduceyourself post once you reach some landmark in your life on here. Maybe you get your first X followers or you start writing on a new topic. You don't want to abuse that powerful label, but try to find a way you really have a reason to introduce yourself to the platform again.

Yes, we give a % of our upvote when we use tools allowing us to (or once we get above 500 SP) because that allows us to preserve voting power. I upvote people a lot for both posts and especially comments, so I'm always running low on VP. So I tend to upvote posts 33-100% and comments 20-50%.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68541.87
ETH 3868.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63