Calling All Youtube Content Creators and Unpaid Social Media Users!

in #steemit7 years ago

It is Time To Wake Up and Get with the Program!

The Centralized social media companies don't care about you. They only care about the bottom line to please their overlords on Wall St. I cringe every time I see the giant social media companies change their algorithm or just delete a part of the platform that the community found valuable.

I have been through it too many times. Hell, I still have over 104,000 followers on my Verified Google Plus Profile and almost 1,000 subscribers on my Verified Youtube channel. The problem is that the value of those properties has decreased substantially over the last few years. I put so much work into those profiles and you know what, "you can't cry over spilled milk!" They will beat you, make you feel that you are just a number and move onto the next poor schmuck who thinks they can outsmart the system.

What I Did To Overcome All the Social Media Shennanigans.

I took the skills I learned on Google Plus, Facebook, Pinterest, Wordpress, Blogger, Medium, Linkedin, Twitter and I brought them over to a decentralized social network called Steemit. This social media platform has literally brought me back from the verge of quitting blogging all together. Now I blog on Steemit daily, collect rewards and use the old social media platforms to share my Steemit content.

It really is a win win situation for me and anyone who is a content creator. Steemit is a community that welcomes our opinion. Sure sometimes we have trolls, plagiarism, cat memes, nudity, flat earthers and a myriad of other things that may get under your skin but at least the community isn't about enriching some big data firm or Wall Street Fat Cat.


Source

It is Time to Use a Platform that Let's the Community Decide the Value of Your Content.

Join me on Steemit today. Anyone who creates can find a niche on the platform. All I ask is that you put some effort into it. I am not asking that you write everyday like I did for the last 8 months. I know that is insane, but I am asking that you create content and engage with the community.

Don't sit in the corner and talk to the wall, join in the conversation!

Sort:  

I wish I could up vote this 1000 times! There is such a huge opportunity here for people with talent to create a following or those who already have a following. Even if a youtuber only has 1000 faithful followers, can you imagine if they brought them all here? If all they got were 1000 votes from their established followers every day, they would bank! Plus then established people already on steemit would jump in too and increase the rewards exponentially.

For sure, we only need a handful to come over and then a tsunami of content creators would arrive. I was talking to my friend @LanySullivan about this the other day. We met her on GPlus about 3 years ago and she just came to visit. We were talking about the good old days on GPlus and why the influencers on other platforms have not come to Steemit yet. We came to the conclusion that they are guilty of herd mentality. They need to have one of their gurus or influencer overlords tell them to come use Steemit. Maybe we need to get @LordVader involved. He has the power of persuasion.

As you know it takes work and time to create content. If you want to take quality photo's then there is also money involved. We are still creating new content, and sharing older content here but with the last three months of nonsense it has become apparent to us that Content creators are not one of the top priorities.

this is such an awesome post, too much truth in this, I hope people would start using Steemit more and more everyday... I'll continue enjoying this platform for a long time!

Well said Randy! So many people could benefit from dropping in to check what Steemit is all about and realize it's kicking the behinds of the corporate social overlord networks.

I've been preaching this... now I have tokens to back my words up... bottom line, the incentives have to be greater then the complexity of steemit

So true! Thanks for sharing.

I love the positivity of this post! I never thought I'd become a person that could create content. But I just started here in July 2016 and now I'm still here posting and having a blast. It's fantastic. There is so much room here for the creation of so much different content it truly can blow your mind when you start thinking about it. Great post man, made my day!

Everyone just keeps complaining instead of creating solutions. I propose the community gets together and funds a way to decentralize the internet. I dont think its software at this point, i think its hardware. I think we should see about creating something like the gotenna mesh ( https://www.gotenna.com/pages/mesh ) but an in home router that would effectively decentralize the internet. This would allow for more decentralized platforms to thrive. Im not sure yet how this could be used to circumvent youtube except for decentralized video sharing, but i think it could be a huge leap forward to destroy censorship just like steem and blockchains. We as a community need to stop complaining and create a solution.

Ira Miller of Gitguild is working on some pretty epic stuff. He told me that he has been in the dungeon for months coding and working with his Dev team. He says it is totally possible.

Great post. Steemit is a really great opportunity for online content creators. I like how there is something in it for everyone, and even someone like me who isn't particularly interested in marketing, per se, can still enjoy some rewards. You don't have to worry about censorship or centralization, just a hard fork every now and then :)

Even then the Hardforks are bearable. I am sure there will be big changes coming but I will adapt.

Thank you for an encouraging article. As someone who is just now getting into Blogging and content creation, this makes me glad that I am on this platform..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63159.84
ETH 2972.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57