Minnows & Newbies: The Comment Section Is Your Greatest Asset

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Watch On DTube

Gamifying The Comment Section

So you're new to Steemit or you've been here for a while but you're a minnow. Look, I know how hard it is to break through all the noise in order to get your content noticed. It was much easier to get noticed when Steemit was much younger. But now we have seen a serious influx of new users since then. No worries. There's hope for you. 

So how can I as a newbie or minnow boost my reputation and start collecting some good ol' Steem?


One of the most underrated tools that you have in your repertoire is the comment section. Gamifying the comment sections of posts is something that you should seriously consider. Usually when newbies jump on Steemit they start posting their butts off or they just curate other people's posts. I have seen this method work well for some and not so well for others. I only actually know of one person who was a newbie to Steemit that has literally posted everyday for the last 5 months since he's been on Steemit. He has much success now due to a few things. Networking, ridiculously hard work, and great content. Those three ingredients make for a great chance at succeeding here. 

However those three ingredients are not the only options for minnows and newbies. Enter the comment section. The comment section is a great place to share your advice, ideas, and thoughts with others. It is one of the best ways to connect with other Steemians and help build stronger communities. Not only that but you have a good chance of your comments being upvoted and earning some Steem. 

The 3 main benefits of interacting in the comment section:

  1. Connect with other Steemians
  2. Increased visibility
  3. Earn Steem by having your comments upvoted and in turn giving your reputation a bit of a boost

Wrap Up 

Long story short, if you want to start gaining a little traction as a minnow or newbie, start getting highly involved in the comments. This can help not only boost your rep but get you paid. The more times you show up in someone's comments the better chance you have at getting upvoted and you own posts noticed. This is exactly why I started talking about the Art Of Reciprocity and why I upvote my followers so much. It's because I know how hard it is for minnows and newbies to make some noise here on Steemit. Something I aim to do is to create an environment in the comment section of my posts where people can feel free to share their thoughts, upvote one another, and encourage one another. You are officially invited to the Art Of Reciprocity

Are you a Steemit newbie or minnow?

What do you love about being a part of Steemit?

What are some of your goals you want to accomplish here?

Images 1 2



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Yes, I see this often and throughout SteemIt from those giving advice to us newcomer's. It's a great help and the repetition is necessary. I notice quite a few comments in this thread where many are not getting the importance of comments. A comment not only helps to pull you out of the corner but gives a glimpse into your ability to write. I see quite a few channels with zero posts, but have thousands of follower's. That's why there is two main ways to earn. As an author and/or curator. 1-I am both a newbie and a minnow. Even though it says I have been a member since August 2016, I only remember requesting an account in 2017. Being technically challenged, I at first couldn't figure out how to upload my avatar image from my device, so was using another more user friendly platform until around Christmas time. My first post was around December 22, 2017. 2- There are so many things to love about SteemIt. It is a massive place, a political system, an economy, a media platform, a way to make a living and all in all, it's a complete societal social structure. It gives us an alternative to the mainstream way of doing things. A true Democracy, in which everybody has a say according to their experience. SteemIt is the next step towards creating a perfect society. 3- I have high hopes for SteemIt. First and foremost, I am here to connect and create a harmonious community. Not one where everyone agrees, but where we can work together and communicate, in spite of disagreement. I plan on starting a blogging career, instead of living my life as a wage slave. SteemIt has the ability to help me disengage from a society I have not only never quite connected with, but disagree with on so many levels. I am and will continue to use it to voice my philosophy with the hopes of connecting with those which agree, those which agree, but can see the good in my thoughts and those which completely disagree, but are open enough that we both can find the common ground in each other's ideals and work together to change the world. I am planning a quite ambitious journey and will need to build a community to make it work long term. SteemIt is one platform that gives me the ability to do this. I believe above all this, using SteemIt is a great way to learn to gather your own thought s coherently to understand yourself better and this is the key for growth.

"It's a complete societal social structure" That just dawned on me of how much depth there is to this place and the mindblowing thing is that this is only the base of mount everest so to speak.

Dude you can do it. Steemit can help you do away with wage slavery and being a cog in a machine. If you really enjoy it then it will feel more like play than work. For me it's been a tough journey but after a year I'm starting to get the balling rolling. It can be done. Nothing is impossible

You have so much to talk about and many people would love to hear what you have to say. And plus we need more peace and harmony in this world. Much love man.

Oh I know, I got this. SteemIt is small beans compared to what I am preparing to do.

useful comments

You are my inspiration @humanearl and it has been quite some time we are interacting here in your blog and it really gives a great sense of pleasure visiting ur blog and commenting upon it.

And yes commenting is great way to socialize in steemit for minnows especially.

Thank you and Have a great day.

it feels good to connect with other people. Especially if they are from a different country. I'm glad we connected.

Hello @humanearl Thanks for this great piece of advise, as a matter of fact I got to hear about you from my husband @restandreign, he has literally fallen in love with your blog and can't stop taking about you. Had to read this when he sent the link to me. I am so gonna be taking commenting more serious now and not just posting my contents . Thanks again. Resteemed and followed. Cheers

@thelovejunkie Nice to meet you! @restandreign is a very helpful guy and we try to stay in communication. Commenting is a big way not only for people to earn but also to simply communicate with others and get to connect. Many people that just start out here ask me what they can do to be better.

I know it is very hard for new people to get their blogs noticed so I encourage them to start interacting on people's posts. This way people see your name and potentially upovte you for a great comment. Over time these small amounts of money can add up to hundreds or thousands of dollars.

I'm so glad we connected and I wish you very well here. If you need any help just let me know. Much love.

Oh dear, once again thanks.

If you need any help just let me know. Much love.

You've got a good heart. God bless your heart bro @humanearl

I've just started to learn about this. Been commenting more regularly over the last few days. It can be a challenge to view the impact of commenting. I now use Steem.Supply to view the impact of comments on my earnings. This has helped me to stay on track and be more consistent.

Happy to have stumbled onto your post. Engaging in the Art of Reciprocity: Upvoted, resteemed, commented & followed. Thank you!

Another great resource is https://steemworld.org/@acdevan

It also has data regarding comments as well. I'm not sure if it is as detailed as Steem supple or not but I use steemworld everyday. I use it to track my voting power so I can keep paying people for their comments and posts.

And you are very welcome to comment here at any time. Thanks alot.

Thank you for the tip! I do access SteemWorld regularly.

I totally agree with this. As I have learned more about this I started out following few friends and just posting then later I realised that there is potential by following more people as they follow or comment on things I share here. The other thing is I dont mind now responding and try to respond to all responses as best I can now. It has built quick growth for a short while. Now its about remembering to read others articles and learn or take away some new ideas. but definitely build your community and comments, replies and following are the best help beyond just posting. just as I have done here. you have been followed, re-steemed and up-voted! thanks for the insite. Keep up the good work.

You @jerryperkinsii has been followed and upvoted too. Well said

Thank you!

@jerryperkinsii Much love man and thanks. Glad you have already implemented these ideas. It helps to build community and get way from the "take, take, take" mindset

you are good person @humanearl it so not easy for minnows and newbies on steemit. Im a minnow so I knw so. its sop frustrating.I hardly sleep most nights cos Im always pondering deeply on quality articles I can come up with in orderton get notice here but ive already given up on the idea of posting to get noticed or whatever, what i do now is try to come up with good post, surf steemit and put quality comments on good blogs and upvote good blogs and not killing myself in the name of getting noticed and all but i believe in the saying that "hardwork pays off" so I wont relent, I wont kill myself neither. Imma keep grinding till Im remembered probably someday.

i love so many things about being a part of steemit but what surpasses them all is fact that i get to learn to learn alot on steemit. i hardly visit other sites, steemit is like a home for me thats why i call it "my safe haven". im really loving here bro.

goals i wanna achieve on steemit are numerous, some of them are:
*build up my reputation.
*post a lot influential and educative articles.
*get enough steem power
*be as influential and generous as some my mentors like @surpassinggoogle, @swissclive and the rest of them, i want to be able to do what they doing and even more.
*have many followers due to my influence on steemit
*help newbies and minnows when i get to my summit
*i sure must add make enough dough, pls im human. etc

thks @humanearl for your post i gained something from it. imma follow u to get updates on ur blog, u can choose to follow back if u wish.

@happymichael Glad you found Steemit! It has become a safe haven for many. I just happened to find it a little earlier on. I know exactly how hard it is for minnows to get noticed. The best advice is to go hard on commenting and giving value in other ways if you don't post on your blog.

Trust me there have been many people who have commented on my posts and had their reputations boosted because I upvoted them. Stay active in the comments and you'll be fine

Youve got no problem bro.. Thks for being a good man @humanearl

I agree 100% , except for the 'gamify' part.
let's be real ok.
as I've said a bucha time.
ENGAGE.
actually, you know, read the damn article
then talk about it.

nothing pisses me off more than
"great post", 'thanks for sharing' and silly nonsense like that.
I automaticly mute who ever did that.

I post stuff to DISCUSS...
when I was on FaceBook I'd have threads with THOUSANDS of reponses..
on Steemit, until lately, four or five were the norm
and two or three of those were commnet bots
(I hates em)

commenting can earn steem

one day for me.

can I say that this platform welcomes ALL DISCUSSION- well, NO. If monetization is fueled by positive engagement then you're gonna get alot of generic "great post" nonsense you speak of...naturally. A question to anyone who reads this. DOES DOWNVOTING Demonetize someone? If it does demonetize then the opposite is also true, if I expressed any idea that is different or even disliked by most I risk being punished for it here. Personally, I wouldn't know what happens when thew downvote button gets hit- I haven't used that button . as a general rule I'd like to think that I do not do unto others what I would not like to be done to me...

the first rule of steemit (the platform) is that there are no rules.
do what you wanna do.
upvote/downvote are tools to do so
downvotes definitely demonitize.
an armed society is a polite society and downvotes are arms.
no one said that Steemit was a 'safespace'
use all due discretion.

And all those comments count in the long run. Let the faucet leak for long enough and you'll have a sink full of water.

My point about gamifying was with the intention that people ENGAGE. If I get those resteem, upvote, one liners I just move on to the next comment.

Something hilarious is that I saw on your post about the nasty weather you asked someone "are you a real person?"

yup..and they never replied so I assumed they were a bot.
I muted them.
I don't talk to machines...

and again yup...lots and lots of comments (dripping faucets) can add up to a swiming pool full of steem...

Steemit is a SOCIAL platform..not a place for 'my machine' to talk to 'your machine'.

@humanearl,
The 3 main benefits of interacting in the comment section:
Bro you got all points well! This is what all minnows need to understand! Actually I also built on this and still I am! Great you decided to talk about it!

Cheers~

I remember when you first started commenting here. Now you have come a long way. Just keep working at it. Glad you have benefited from this.

So true. This is great advice, @humanearl. I know that hearing this advice early on helped me boost my reputation. Seeing that sometimes I would make more money on a comment as opposed to a post also showed me how important the comment section really is. What I like about is, like you said, you become a voice. It incentives you to make meaningful connections on the platform, as opposed to just broadcasting to the masses. And slowly but surely, those connections turn into upvotes. But I think more importantly, they give minnows a chance to learn. Steem and Steemit aren't like other social networks, and it takes some getting used to to figure out the game. But like you said, it's simple: utilize the comment section. I've been making an effort to promote good comment etiquette in my own comment section, and it's been worth it.

@joshpeterson Perfect man. You have done a great job at understanding the value of the comment section. Many newbies and minnows don't understand the value in using it. I can tell you for a fact that there are people that comment on my posts that have made more money commenting than posting.

Building connections is hard work but it's so priceless.

Thanks for sharing. I think like all things in life, it is really about relationships. Developing, reading, caring, and interacting in posts helps develop and foster more relationships. Relationships tie directly into our S.H.A.P.E - Spirtuality. Heart. Abilities. Purpose. Experience. Someones SHAPE is the essence of who we are. Peace.

I like that acronym. It actually describes the culture of Steemit in a big way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57440.51
ETH 2911.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66