You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is Steemit, Inc Doing???

in #steemit6 years ago

Thank you for this information, Luke. It is useful for me in one certain way. Whenever I login to Utopian and wish to add a suggestion, I do not understand what repository to use. How you have helped me is by briefly explaining all the Steem(it) repositories. I now have some perspective and information on that.

I am not a developer. Coding is not my thing but I can analyze statistics and user behavior. I can read charts and understand the problems without the need to understand codes first. My first ever Utopian contribution highlighted why and how user retention must be improved by Steemit Inc. Not knowing code did not stop me from making a contribution.

Not knowing the code is a blessing for me. Counterintuitive but true. I use my analytical ability to trace things from the frontend and find out how they work. Since I am not a technical guy, my language and delivery helps the non-technical userbase; which is in vast majority I suppose. For example, my detailed guides on Reputation Score and Reward System are strictly non technical, plain-language tutorials. They helped thousands of people so far (apparent from the number of comments and views on posts). That is how I am contributing to the platform. I will never stop doing it.

Thank you for being there, Luke. Always a pleasure to read your posts and learn from your wisdom. Wishing you and your family all the health and happiness in the world!

Sort:  

Excellent point. There are many ways we can contribute, not just code. The thing I was trying to point out in my post was how we need a larger perspective to understand prioritization between various things which need to get done. When we see a problem within our area of expertise, it's easy to think, "Oh man, they totally need to fix this now!" but there may be reasons fixing something else first is a much better approach.

Keep on providing great value here! I think you're doing a lot of great work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62722.59
ETH 3111.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84