I'm Paulius Blog #2: Glycogen Storage Recipe

in #steemit6 years ago

Group.jpg

What is glycogen storage?

If you watched my podcast, the past several episodes I talked about the keto-adaptation period which will take about 3-weeks. However, the past few days I experienced liver tightness and my intuition lead me to believe that my glycogen in the liver was depleted. I've had a similar experience in the past because I lowered the intake of carbohydrates too fast without tapering off slowly.

Some of the main reasons that lead me to believe I was glycogen depleted were:

  • My fullness in the muscle was completely gone aka. looking like a flat pancake
  • I didn't have high energy levels
  • The obvious which I mentioned was tight liver

Solution

Because I woke up feeling better after eating one toast at night my solution was to add more carbohydrates in the next few days.

But what about keto?

I have to modify it and take a different approach by adding carbohydrates every 3-4 days, depending on the physical activity. My body is still able to stay in ketosis and produce ketones if 80% of my food is low-carb. Taking into consideration longevity and sustainability, I perform better when there are carbs in the diet but only enough to replenish the glycogen banks. So below is a recipe for what I ate today to mitigate the issue.

Omelette & Sweet Potatoes Recipe

IMG_2062.jpg

  • 5 eggs
  • Spinach
  • Two Medium sized sweetpotatoes
  • Goat Cheese
  • Toasted Sesame Oil
  • Salt & Pepper

IMG_2063.jpg

Slice the potatoes to about 1/4 inch per

IMG_2064.jpg
Spray the pan with nonstick oil and add 1/4 cup of water, cook on med/high for 5 minutes on each side

IMG_2066.jpg
Add five eggs in a bowl

IMG_2068.jpg
Whisk the eggs lightly

IMG_2069.jpg
Throw the spinach in the warm pan and move them around for 2 minutes

IMG_2070.jpg
Add the eggs

IMG_2071.jpg
Optional flavor

IMG_2072.jpg
Lightly drizzle toasted sesame oil for enriched flavor

IMG_2073.jpg
Add goat cheese while potatoes are hot and enjoy

Very basic meal but when you're in ketosis the food tastes richer which leads to an appreciation of simple elements.


If you want to learn more about glycogen storage watch, the link to my podcast is below.
https://dlive.io/livestream/impaulius/4fc90bca-bdbd-11e8-8f16-0242ac110003

JOIN MY DISCORD BELOW WHERE I'LL BE POSTING TOOLS, RESOURCES & ANSWERING QUESTIONS
https://discord.gg/s5axaRN

Stay Gold,
-Paulius

Sort:  

Congratulations @impaulius! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62780.02
ETH 2945.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62