You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Replacing Bandwidth On The Steem Blockchain With Resource Credits - What Is This And Why Do You Need To Know About It

in #steemit6 years ago

The difficult issue I'm seeing here is in how to cut down on spam and other "money for nothing" actors on here while not ending opportunity for new people from poor countries (or simply poor households) who really do want to contribute to the platform.

You can say "create good content" but you know, I think I create great content consistently, but I'm not kidding myself that my buying STEEM hasn't been the greater part of my modest success on here.

Before I was able to buy STEEM, or sufficiently convinced this was a good investment to decide to, I would not have been able to grow my base of support. I grew by commenting and upvoting. If I had been restricted too severely in how much of each I could do, I would not have been able to interact enough to gain traction here.

I get how there is a desire to make sure that those who use the resources of the blockchain be invested in the blockchain, but I think there has to be a better way of establishing that than simply how much money someone has been able to put into the platform.

And again, even though you can supposedly accumulate this SP by creating content, not buying it, with this new plan you will likely run out of RC before you even have been able to create enough content to get a leg up.

How is the platform to differentiate between spam content creation and genuine content creation by poor people? This is the core solution needed, not steps that penalize people for being new and relatively poor.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64230.75
ETH 3149.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85