Don´t Upvote Trending Posts Before Reading This!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

There are a few reasons that made me to decide to write this post which I will share with you. After seeing somethings today it made me realize that many people are helping to destroy this community unknowingly out of their greed and laziness by upvoting only the trending posts. And I do believe that majority of people that upvote this trending posts don´t even bother to read through this posts, they just upvote them because this posts have already made some money.

If you want to see some of the destructive consequences that this cheap behavior has be sure to check out the link to the next post. It was this post that triggered me to write this post so please do READ THIS!

The post mentioned above was written by @themarkymark who wanted to alert people that this is happening and wanted to get the word out. I highly respect his work that is why I decided to write this in this manner.

Seeing this post today just made me want to power down and move all my Steem coins back to Bittrex and change them for some other coins. But I decided not to do this but to try to get people thinking about this behavior.

The short story behind this problem mentioned in the link above as I see it goes like this. There was one person who created many plagiarized posts on the theme of fitness. He paid the upvoting bots first to get his scammer posts placed on trending page but than the majority of this upvotes he received came from people who were looking at the trending section and upvoted his posts. People who upvoted his posts didn´t know that the content in this posts is plagiarized. But please do read through the post to which I have placed a link above to get a clear picture of this situation.

The second problem I want to touch on in this post is this. People go to the trending section and upvote the most rewarded posts without even bothering to open and read them. They cast their daily upvotes thinking they will make a lot of money from curation rewards by upvoting posts that have made some money already instead of upvoting posts that have made less or no money. Let me assure you friends if you are thinking like this than you are very much mistaken. Because on the posts with high rewards you have to share your curation rewards with hundreds of people. While if you upvote posts with lower rewards you have to share your curation rewards with only a few people. And if you will do the math you will find out that it pays more to upvote posts with lower rewards than the posts in the trending page.

By upvoting only trending posts you first of all deprive minnows which create quality content for rewards they deserve and which they do not get because people are to lazy to search through new posts category and check out new users and their content. I know this is not a fun job but we have to do it if we want to keep getting new quality users into this community and keep them here and make community stronger. Because if some quality minnows will come and will write for a few months and will only earn a few dollars without getting notice they will leave.

Do you think I like spending hour or two a day reading through this new posts on Steemit and Steemfollower to cast my upvotes to posts from which 90% are pure spammer garbage. Trust me I don´t. But I still do it and you should too. Because this is right and because I still find in there some quality educational content and sometimes funny content which makes me laugh and which deserves do be upvoted.

By upvoting only trending posts you are making Steemit an exclusive club and making the minnows think twice if it is even worthy writing posts on Steemit since the majority of the rewards go to the people that are already on top.

You are also getting less money from curation rewards than you would if you would upvote posts from newbies with less rewards.

Together we can do it!

💪

Steem on!

steemit-logo.jpg

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59524.20
ETH 2999.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77