You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Managing Expectations Can Grow the STEEM Ecosystem

in #steemit6 years ago

I was hoping you could elaborate on this point:

If Steemit.com is currently just a reference implementation of a Smart Media Token and the larger vision is to tokenize the web, I have to consider that in my thinking.

Is this to say, that steemit.com might use a token called STEEMIT...

Busy.org might use a Smart Media Token: BUSY

From what I understood, tokens would be called things like ART or POLITICS (or maybe SMT-ART or SMT-POLITICS) based on categories or groups on the steem chain.

I'm still confused how this will be able to tokenize the web. You can tell I'm not up to speed... do you have something you could add?

Sort:  

I purposefully left that part vague as I'm still thinking through the practical results of SMT tokens. I don't think a STEEMIT SMT token will be introduced, but it's certainly possible. I think that depends on what Steemit, the company, wants to do. Any thing is possible. Anyone can issue an SMT token. You, me, anyone. The SMT Whitepaper gives various examples of how it could tokenize the web, the obvious one to me being a Disqus-style comment widget large websites could add to their communities to incentivize engagement and growth.

I'll be blogging more about SMTs as I continue to digest what it may mean for the STEEM ecosystem and the web in general.

...sounds good.

I purposefully left that part vague

Well you certainly can't say I don't read your posts thoroughly to focus on the vague part. Grin. I enjoy your posts.

Thanks for your support and encouragement. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63896.48
ETH 3315.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92