Top stories from July 25th (and a warning)

in #steemit8 years ago

I wrote this post last week on the dangers of steemit being too introspective.  I understand that people want to reward introductions to give newcomers a sense of excitement when they see their balance increase.  I also realize that Steem and Steemit are so exciting that people want to write about them.  

That said, both "introductions" as well as "meta" are long-term uninteresting to new/repeat users who are never going to become steem-millionaires but may be looking for an alternative to Reddit.  Original content (highlighted below in blue and orange) is what will get people excited and keep coming back.

Anyway, you can read my other post, but the bottom line is Steemians need to create content that isn't intros or steemit stuff.  The way to do that is to vote up things that aren't introductions or steemit stuff.  Unfortunately, people realize that those are the best bets to earn them money, so the site is stuck in a loop (for now).  Best way to get out of the loop is create a small, strong community that ignores the front page and dives into discussion in the topic of their passion.

Disclosure: yep, I get that it's ironic that this is about Steemit.

Sort:  

Totally agree. I'm in!

I agree, and while it's cool that people are introducing themselves and getting into the platform, I can't honestly say I'm that interested in reading them even though they seem like pretty cool people.

One issue is that other than reposted content which I refuse to vote for, there isn't much original articles at the moment outside of introductions and Steemit circlejerk posts, but hopefully that'll change. Of course, there's a bit of a vicious cycle here in that the curators see that these type of posts are earning the most and thus will most likely upvote similar posts in the hopes of earning curation rewards.

I tried creating an original recipe post which I thought was solid but only got around 2 cents worth of votes... lol, so not very encouraging. Perhaps I'll try writing some political articles something to help add some diversity in content.

Steemit could easily fix this by having less weight when you vote/blog on those categories

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71152.89
ETH 3805.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49