Are Minnows Giving Up?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)


Source: Pixabay

Ever since I had joined on Steemit, I saw people come and go. Majority, of course, are minnows. They may be invited by members who are thriving on this site. They created their #introduceyourself posts which may have earned them a good amount. Aftet their introduction posts, their succeeding blogs barely earns good amount. Hence, many of them stopped writing or posting.

Personal experience on Steemit

I can feel the frustrations of many members. I even experienced such almost 7 months ago. I even remember when my #introduceyourself post only earned few cents and other posts earned zero. If I let frustrations unnerve me, I could've left the Steem world. I persevered posting until some of my posts were recognized, and also noticed the helpfulness of @surpassinggoogle, as well as his posts intended to encourage everyone. I was motivated to continue writing, and I am still here on Steemit for almost 7 months. I get discouraged at times because I rarely earn huge amounts this time, but I keep on posting because I have been through a lot as a Steemian. Looking back during my first three months, the value of SBD still runs from $0.8 to a little less than a dollar.

The value of SBD frustrates members

I admit I am getting worried of the value of SBD and Steem which dropped to a little higher than $2. But as I look back, SBD is a little more or less than $1. In fact, when SBD went $1.7 from the usual $1 before it reached its peak, I am happy. That's my mindset at the moment. Besides, it just follows the trend of majority of cryptocurrencies which their respective values has plummeted.
IMG_20180311_095031.png
Powered by: WorldCoinIndex.com

Whale wars

Smaller account owners or minnows are worried about whales fighting each other. They are worried that if whales left Steemit, then it may start its doom. I am not sure about that, but of course, we are all hoping that everyone makes peace and keep Steemit as a great site.

Little earnings

This is the common reason minnows giving up on Steemit. I even saw members of several months getting disappointed and posting they may be giving up. They are insinuating of getting ignored by whales, or some whales do not support the minnows. It may be true or not, but we should also look at people or whales who are helpful. Some supportive whales may unable to support due to the volume of new members who joined Steemit, which was mostly through promoting Steemit campaigns. However, the sad thing is some members join but eventually left. I agree that there must be changes to be done to keep the health of Steemit strong, thus giving help to minnows would be a great thing.

Keep Steeming


Source: Pixabay

Why not enjoy Steemit? We didn't pay anything when we joined as minnows. Since the site is still very much functional, let's keep sharing anything and socialize with one another, at the same time earn some amount either big or small. Besides, I also earned a good amount here and a lot of us does. We gained new friends as well. It even honed our writing skills, and even improved our personality from what we are reading or even dealing with people. Let's be hopeful, and keep Steeming.



Please support @surpassinggoogle as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.

You can also give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.

Please support his project as well, which is @teardrops Smart Media Token.


Join the Steemit School organized by @dobartim on Discord.


image
image
image

Sort:  

There's still a big difference between cents and nothing. So I'll keep Steeming and keep earning cents. Cheers!

It is very frustrating. I spend hours editing videos dealing with software glitches and Microsoft blaming Adobe and Adobe blaming Microsoft for it. Everyone I got to make an account gave up because they weren't making any money. Their posts would say 3 cents, but always went down to zero at payout. I upvote what I like, not what I think will make me the most profit. The problem with this site is that most users don't. Despite the crash, my account value is still a lot higher than the USD I put in. I'm still gonna continue making videos and promoting Steemit on other social media sites and keep buying $15 of steem power a week. SBD and STEEM will go back up because people do buy when it's low.

I can feel your frustrations and sentiments when your hard work is not recognized. But I can feel your spirit. Since you are buying Steem Power a week, that's a great thing. As your SP goes up, your vote value goes up. It means increase earnings on your posts, and curation rewards for upvoting others.

Most people I tell about this site to think it's just a pump and dumb scheme. I there is some truth to that, just like every other crypto and stock; but I can't foresee STEEM going down to nothing and never going back up.

As long as issupport u kami master, agak mangive up hehehehe

Hahah... Tua. Support yo tan si @surpassinggoogle okay ak la.

Duga tan, maong labat ta walay master tau katon a buo yay group tau. Sigurado khit konti upvotes natin, pero d tau ma zero kasi sa group natin. Hehehe. Thanks @iyanpol12

To be honest, some people who put minnows here are only showing the good side of Steemit, that is why it frustrate them when the earning is bad. I am not sure if it is something about the leadership or some people like me, are not that lucky.

As long as we support each other master, we can survive here..hehe

Nah I am not worried anymore. As I keep Steeming somehow the worry disappears as I stay longer here. :D I should power up more now that the price is lower? Whew.

You can power up using your SBD if the gap of Steem and SBD is wide. But the latter should be higher.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71443.06
ETH 3660.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73