Why I Love Steemit!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

I have been a member on Steemit for nearly 4 months now, as I joined in November of 2016. Steemit has taught me something, which I believe is a very valuable skill that all of us should learn. That skill is how to save and manage your money. It seems stupid, but I do not earn a lot of cash right now, so every penny counts. For me, Steemit acts as a savings account; you can power up all your liquid STEEM and make interest while it just sits there. When it comes to curating, that primarily acts as your interest rate, currently at 4%. Currently at my size, I do not make much interest/APR or whatever you call it. I simply post as much as I can and hope that I can contribute towards this incredible platform.

To help this platform, I have tried to get several friends to signup, as they said they would want to leave messages for their loved ones when they pass. One person who signed up is a very close friend of mine. He is currently battling Motor Neurone Disease, which causes him to be paralysed and for his brain not to register things correctly; these are the exact words he said to me with a struggle: "I want my grandchildren to know much about my past as they possibly can. You explained this new technology to me, and about how the posts are never removed. That is all I want. I want to be remembered for the person I am."

What my friend said to me during the time we spoke changed my whole outlook on life. It made me want to appreciate it much more. And I honestly feel that I have been a kinder human-being from that experience. In fact, I just got in from the Town Centre and saw several homeless people. I went around to each and every one of them and offered them a hot sausage roll and a cup of hot chocolate. When I spoke to them, their faces shed a smile and I listened to the reason why they were homeless. Many of them were male, and said that they were homeless as they were ex-military and that they couldn't get back to the "normal" life.

If you are reading this post and aren't currently on Steemit, you should sign up straight away. I have learnt a lot of valuable skills and treasure what I have got and the way I am today. Thank you very much for reading this post. Please resteem with others as you will be showing your appreciation for what I do.

Jack Coble. 

Sort:  

Sounds like a good journey you're on. What a kind thing to do to offer the homeless something to eat and drink. It must be very interesting to hear their stories.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68799.09
ETH 3831.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63