Crypto bloodbath. Hide your wife, hide your kids.

in #steemit5 years ago

I was just having lunch today with a friend that I don't see very often.

Last time we got together was actually November of 2017 right around Thanksgiving.

cr11.jpg
Pixabay

It was nice to see her again. We talked about some of the same things that we were talking about last year. For me those two things are writing and cryptocurrency.

I still remember when I got interested in Steemit.

The price of Bitcoin was about $900. My first post didn't make anything, and neither did my second, but I think my third post made about $0.05.

I was elated at that $0.05 because it meant that it was actually possible to make money on this site.

Eventually I started to make more than $0.05 per post. I gained an audience.

I started focusing more on writing flash fiction, and people seem to be interested in reading it.

It was a great experience.

Is there any better feeling than spending a couple of hours writing something, getting a nice reward for it, and also receiving several great comments from people that are really interested in what you had to say?

I don't think that there is.

cr12.jpg
Pixabay

At the time I was also involved with the project called VIVA which ultimately did not work out.

Unfortunately, some of the important people involved with that project were what we like to call bad actors in the crypto field.

They weren't really looking out for other people.

During that time. I was always on the lookout for new developments in the crypto space and I had my eye on Coinmarketcap every single day.

2017 was a fantastic year for crypto.

I still remember watching Ethereum when it was around $17 and thinking that I might consider investing in it. I never did though.

It's too bad, because if I had known how to play the field I could have gotten into Ethereum, gotten out high, and pretty much been set for life.

Ethereum is not the only coin that had a good year in 2017 though.

Remember I said that Bitcoin was $900? Well it ran all the way up to $20,000 before falling down to $6, 500 where it stayed for several months.

Did you invest in Bitcoin when it was $20, 000? I know a bunch of people that did.

cr14.jpg
Pixabay

Steem also had a nice run. It went all the way up to $8, making most of us really happy. That is.... if you were a dolphin or a whale.

I'm a dolphin and I was happy.

Of course we have all been taught to hold forever. Just HODL!

I couldn't imagine a reason why Steem couldn't go on a much further run, maybe all the way up to $50, so I didn't pull any of my money out.

Besides, I really believed in the project, and I still believe in Steem as much as I ever did.

I think everyone was really expecting that November bullrun.

Remember, remember, the moon in November. This was posted a couple of times in certain Discord channels if I remember correctly. Don't quote me on it though.

It's no surprise. We mooned last year and we have no reason not to moon this year.

The only fundamentals that have changed in the cryptocurrency field are for the better.

Good news all around.

So why do we continue to fall?

cr5.jpg
Pixabay

Is it all over?

Certainly not.

Black Friday is just around the corner. People have a lot of money invested in crypto. Don't invest more than you can afford, they say.

Maybe it should say Don't invest more than you can afford if you also want to buy Christmas gifts for your friends and family.

I was at Best Buy earlier today and guess what..... they still don't take Bitcoin.

I think there's a good chance we're going to see a farther pull back all the way down to perhaps $4,500 Bitcoin.

I actually predicted $0.50 Steem a couple of months ago. It isn't that I don't have faith in the platform, but I think things needed to go down a bit further before going back up.

I'm still fully on board with the idea that we are going to see an end of the year Bull Run.

I'm not completely convinced that it will be as hardcore as last year, but people need to pull fiat out once in awhile.

This is just the time that they're doing it.

Fiat out ---> Crypto down.

Fiat in ----> Crypto up.

You want to buy a good Christmas gift for someone? Get them some Steem.

There's a Black Friday sale going on in the crypto field and you don't even have to wait until Thanksgiving to take advantage of the deals.

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

I held too. I've always seen Steemit as a long-term investment. I'm also looking for trends, so I can take advantage of future cycles.

Holding is hard, but I think we're in for a powerful upward swing even though it might be a couple of years out.

Thanks for connecting on here! My Gift To YOU https://roberthollis.com/mdcty

I am really happy for your success jeezzle! You have done a great job and kept consistent. I should have done the same, but sometimes we just have to restart. Haha. Cheers man!

I hope you are eventually able to recover your account.

Compared to the audience here, @reverseacid is relatively new to Steemit. But as the economics of the platform becomes more and more within grasp, it is clear that the reputation based reward function of Steemit is here to stay.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I agree completely.

That picture made me laugh. A whole bucket of ice cream hitting the ground at the moment thats for sure.

Hopefully we will all soon be eating ice cream cones on our ice cream yachts.

I know very little of this and some say sell and some say keep it so I do not know what to do - I will save my steem, just want to know that it will not dissappear or steemit goes away hahaha.... let that be an indication of how little I know

Steemit should probably go away, there are way more awesome dapps on Steem than Steemit.

But does that mean you loose your Steem then?

Bitcoin Market 2018 Research report Provides an analysis of the industry size, growth, share, manufacturers and forecast 2025. It includes in-depth data about market consumption, production, revenue and export opinions.
Get Sample Copy of This Report @ https://www.orianresearch.com/request-sample/608900

I'm going to take a look at that.

I did exactly what you say - wrote a short piece of fiction, which won't earn anything, but at least I feel better!

Writing fiction always helps.

dont stop, believing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62549.96
ETH 3022.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67