You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Many Steemits Are There? (English/Turkish)

in #steemit6 years ago

I find your article very interesting and informative, however, I have a slightly different view on the Steemians in your category 1.

I have traveled to many countries around the world and experienced people with little or no income begging for coins. I have also seen people in some of those same countries who are using their talents and skills to make trinkets that are for sale out of naturally occurring objects.
I have purchased earrings made out of fish scales, rings and bracelets made out of wood that is common to a country, and souvenirs made out of plastic.

Wealth is a relative term and it depends on your socio-economic status as to how you view a poor person. I have compassion for the poor and I recognize that some people will not eat today if they cannot make a sale or convince someone else to give them a few coins.

My philosophy is to give a “hand-up” rather than a “hand-out”, so I continue to support the works of low income people when I already own more sea shell jewelry than I can ever wear.

Steemit is a new venture for me that I am still trying to figure out. I invested a small amount of money to my Steempower and that amount has steadily lost value. I am also contributing and reading the contributions of others, but there is quite a bit of diversity among posts.

I appreciate you summing up your observations for those of us who are still “Steemians in training.” It is helpful to read the views of someone with a longer history on this platform.

I am reminded of a verse from the Bible that says “The poor will always be with you.” I guess we just have to decide individually how we deal with them. I wish you success in your endeavors.

Sort:  

I agree with you to some extent personally I think instead of always giving coin to the poor why not teach the poor a better way of making coin without begging.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60205.00
ETH 2994.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90