You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are upvote bots a necessary evil? The investors perspective

in #steemit6 years ago

Great write-up mate, as always!

It's funny, since you first wrote about this topic a couple of months ago, I've gone from using bidbots for almost every post, to practically never using them. The only services I'll use now are @thundercurator and @treeplanter.

My reasoning for this, after speaking with some other people, is that buying votes both is putting large percentages of the available Steem and SBD into the hands of a few, as well as for the reasons you've brought up like inflating the value of payouts and damaging user expectations.

I recently went through my following list and had a massive cull (thanks for that advice by the way!), but the sad thing was I noticed around 2/3 of all the users on there were no longer active and hadn't been for months. Despite Steemits user base growth recently, I don't think the number of active users has really increased all that much, but that's a separate issue I guess.

I need to do more research, but I think the upcoming Hard Fork 20 removes bandwidth all together, which means that Steemit Inc. don't need to delegate to new users for them to use the platform. Honestly, I'm skeptical if this is gonna make any difference, as plenty of the SDL accounts had their delegation removed but they still continue. We'll see I guess!

Sort:  
as well as for the reasons you've brought up like inflating the value of payouts and damaging user expectations.

This is my biggest gripe with bots - that there is not limit on how much votes can be bought and so new people think that the payouts on trending are profit. This is why people come and go so quickly in my opinion - they think it will be easy to atleats make a few hundres dollars but then make mere cents and so leave.

Yeah I do the same still with the culling of people I am following and sadly notice the same thing - really talented writers I have been following are just no longer posting -maybe its just not worth there time (I feel the same at times but just keep on Steeming!)

I dont know much about HF20 but I might research it and write a post about it in the future :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63691.77
ETH 3157.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84