DTube - YouTube Demonetizes MILLIONS Of Channels! - What You Can Do! (DTube & Steemit For The Win!)

in #steemit6 years ago


One of our most recent video reports!
See the original article below:

Josh Sigurdson talks with author and economic analyst John Sneisen about the massive demonetization move by YouTube in recent days following a controversial video by Logan Paul on the platform.
Basically, one guy with millions of subscribers makes a really dumb video. YouTube then uses that as an excuse to pull the rug out from underneath millions of people and stop them from monetizing their videos and making custom thumbnails, both of which are extremely important.
The rules play out like this... If you have less than 1000 subscribers, or less than 4000 hours of total watch time on your videos, you cannot monetize and you will not be able to use custom thumbnails.
This is a direct attack on independent media especially, and basically anyone attempting to get anywhere on YouTube because it cuts down the possibility of people growing on the platform by about 90%.
This demonetization process has been happening for a long time. Any excuse they can use, they certainly will use. Google has gotten billions of dollars in subsidies from the government. It is not a private business at this point, it's a government monopoly on information. The advertisers also have very little say in this. It's basically left up to a certain organization that we cannot mention in the description without facing consequences ourselves.
But let's remember the process of decentralization.
People moved from the telegraph office to the telephone with an operator. From the telephone with an operator to a phone without the need for an operator. From the news paper to the television and radio. From the mainstream media to social media. From centralized social medias to Steemit and DTube. THAT'S the answer to this problem. A REAL free market alternative.

Steemit and DTube are decentralized platforms on the blockchain. You get paid in the Steem cryptocurrency which you can then trade into other cryptos or cash if you wish. It's a massive innovation.

People from all realms of life are flocking to the platform. The worst thing that can happen is that you post what you would on Facebook or YouTube anyways only to make a few dollars. The best thing that can happen is that you can make hundreds of thousands of dollars. What are people waiting for? It's always about what's next in technology.

Stay tuned as we continue to cover this issue and provide more solutions in the coming months with a huge contest which we will announce soon.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

They demonetized most of my vids for not being advertiser friendly and then wouldn't review them unless I got a certain number of hits. Now I got the email they are going to to demonetize my whole channel too. I'm not going to put in a bunch of work on something then have some automated system say it's not worthy so I stopped putting up new videos a while a ago. This latest e mail is the nail in the coffin. Steemit there are no surprises, no big brother censorship. I would rather put in the effort here, I have done way better financially here too. I thought youtube saying the whole topic of Mandela Effects not being advertiser friendly was heavy handed, it's about as mild a conspiracy theory as you can get, but we got lumped in with racists and holocaust denial. I am kind of sour because I always thought my old youtube vids would make me money years later, I kind of feel I made them for nothing.
But Dtube seems like a sweet alternative!

Right on Dtube being a sweet alternative. Exactly what I've been thinking too with that yellow icon I always get on my language lesson channel. I've always been a good girl. It's annoying getting it. Dtube would be another great site to try, but for me only if I could successfully upload a video as I am getting an error for some reason.

I am giving up on it but it's https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCRV-lJI1KGhWSspVVnDym3g

My most popular video was a conspiracy video about Justin Trudeau being Fidel Castro's son. It was fun but I'm not doing it for free

Just watched your latest vid. You do good work!

THANKS, I'll check it out

It was too good to be true for a long time. Now at least we have Dtube or Steemit to express ourselves and make some bucks if we are lucky enough.

I'm slowly changing all my YT video settings to unlisted or private. That way the videos can not go viral, and YT wont have the ability to make money without also dealing with me. They did not even send me an e-mail, I had to find out on DTube :/
Edit: I make music videos; no controversial stuff at all.

Steem on mate. Have success.

they also demonetize mine, I worked for 3 years there to earn that $74, I hate them, they are really ruining it, I have even two video with more than 20k views, 3 years of taking care about my original content, it sucks !

Keep posting your videos on D.Tube and do summary videos of your video on YouTube with links to your full video on D.Tube if you need to. ; )

yes it's an amazing idea, thanks for it. ☺

light bulb idea lol

they also advertizing in all my video even if my motization is off there, they are just using our content to advertise it, they are doing really bad thing now !

What's your channel?

Change all your settings to unlisted or private.

how change to settings to unlisted or private will help me get my $74 earned in 3 years ?

It wont, but it will stop YouTube from making money on your videos if they can't be seen. In the mean time you republish your videos on DTube where you have a fair chance versus none at all. I changed all the settings on my best YT videos to unlisted, so traffic to my channel is dying.

it's better to advertise steemit and dtube on youtube now and let them close their store. lol ☺

I do advertise Steemit/DTube. Closing the store goes quicker when there is increasing cost offset by decreasing revenue. Greetings!

are they stoping the monetization because I advertise steemit there a lot ?

They're playing God and censoring people because their advertisers decide what content fits their brand and image. I am all in on decentralized platforms, we don't need govt's and NGO's running our social platforms.

There one limit to not able to monetize your content if you don't have specific views was the one which also disappointed me when I started youtube and then later I left it.But now the suitation has worsen.

We dont beed youtube guys.
Dtube is the future!

So unfair from YouTube I got affected also,might as well consider this.

The negative publicity of this might be a big boost to STEEM! It seems very arrogant and stupid on their part, but that's why they will lose!

🗅

Its insane how youtube changed in the last 3 years, hopefully we have DTube now!

Dtube os bringing a lot of new users to steem!

I hope that they demonetize all of those fat lazy nomadic idiots on youtube. People getting paid to be homeless, America what a country

They are not idiots for a lot of these folk it is a lifestyle choice. Why are you so bitter that these people were smart enough to earn a living by sharing their lives in video? Good on em.

Homelessness isn't a side show.

They are not homeless, they are houseless, there is difference.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76