You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's Talk About Steem Freedom of Speech, Misflagging and @dan

in #steemit6 years ago

Wow, that's poor form from @dan

Specially when his EOS project has bugs in it

After raising more than a billion $

This is why I have much more fondness for Charles Hoskinson and Cardano. A far more humble guy who is building something to last

Sort:  

That's the name of the game sadly. I am sure you have learned in your time here that Steem is about as unforgiving as the desert, you could be dying of dehydration and begging for 1 SBD to buy a glass of water and most people would pass you over and watch you slowly crumble.

The bug situation is a funny one with EOS. Because it seems anyone who dares mention the recent news that EOS has serious security vulnerabilities ahead of its mainnet launch is attacked and silenced. The issue appears to have been fixed now, but according to this story the source also states, "It can be seen that in the BM, the existence of loopholes in EOS is a normal phenomenon." that is a bit concerning for a project with so much money.

Could you imagine if your bank said, "We've identified some security flaws in our banking system, but we've fixed them. There might be more because this normal" - you would be concerned. And arguably given the amount of money flowing into EOS, it needs to be held up to the kind of scrutiny that a bank or large financial institution would be. Unlike a bank, your EOS tokens are not insured and if they're lost due to a hack and unrecoverable, there is no guarantee you would get them back.

I have had my eyes on Cardano for a while. I don't own any, but Charles Hoskinson has been quiet and humbly building an impressive product. The first time I watched this video on Cardano with Charles, I was blown away how well he explained the concept.

People seem to forget that Cardano launched its SL mainnet back in Setepmber 2017. I also am a huge fan of the more open-source approach Cardano is taking by adopting a peer-reviewed approach to everything that they do, which in my opinion results in a less likely chance of bugs making its way into the main product.

I think EOS on paper sounds like a great project. I've read the whitepaper and technically, it wowed me what they're trying to achieve. I know for a fact I am not the only critic of EOS, many have used the words "ambitious" and "lofty" to describe EOS before. It's an untested concept making a tonne of promises and well, we've had enough of empty promises in crypto.

I also find it concerning EOS didn't put a cap on its ICO, surely they would have some idea of how much money they need to execute their concept? It just feels very unreasonable and irresponsible to have a capless ICO.

One question I do have about EOS is, where is the transaction data going to be stored? Because EOS is effectively implementing a centralised system (which is what gives them such high TPS), where is the data going to be stored and how?

I hope EOS succeeds, but as a developer and cautious investor, I am sceptical.

I wish I had the time to answer this now, but my family beckons.

EOS is not centralized at all, in fact, is the most distributed block producing (mining for POW systems) out there. Bitcoin and Ethereum are dominated by mining pools that own far too much of the hash rate and could (and most likely are) colluding. Asia own over 50% of the hashrate which is by definition, regionally centralized.

You mentioned you like stats, well he is a sexy little infographic for you


eos-eth.jpg


Then you need to remember that the term centralization or decentralization is not limited to signing blocks(or mining blocks). EOS puts the token holders (shareholders) in charge of voting in or out block producers at any time as long as tokens are staked into the voting system.

Yes people are scum bags and I am sure there will be some dodgy under the table deals, but that is just because humans are selfish greedy little shits, it is innate for us to be this way and nothing will change that. If you have watched the latest Avengers Movie, Thanos (that dude needs to hit the gym some time) had it right, but I digress.

The only real complaint I have about Dan is that although is an incredible thinker and underrated economist, he has too much faith in the human race. As you mentioned, Steem is completely​ overrun​ by bots, the system is completely​ broken and very easy to exploit. If there is a way to monetize​ and profit we will find a way,

I just wish Dan and Vitalik would work on a project together​, I know that Big V has started to comment on the EOS Githib which is fantastic news for the crypto community.

Right I have to run, the wife is screaming at me damn it

I disagree on two points (so I'll hone in on those :D)

  1. Thanos had a point, but he was not "right." He will figure that out in time. He has infinity to think about it, so.

  2. I submit that Dan has faith in the idea of having faith in the human race, which unfortunately means squat when you are dealing with actual humans. Real humans are constantly doing things you can't control, like publicly disagreeing with you when there is something at stake.

Faith in humanity would allow for such things to exist and trusting in a greater wisdom to emerge. When your faith is tested and you err on the side of silencing dissent, it's time to re-examine whether your actions line up with your beliefs.

Oh man, I love this. Not only is @beggars a smart fella, he has smart followers. Let the debate begin, (I promise not to hijack your post @beggars).

Right is an extremely subjective term, ( extremists think that blowing up infidels is right for example), it is also an amazing semantic discussion that no one will ever agree upon.

Thanos

I will go back to the beginning. Humans are animals (sorry any religious folks) and our sole purpose is to survive, that instant is part of our DNA. Society has forced the concept of marriage and monogamy ( which is not performing as expected) on us. So........ In the interest of brevity, we need to survive, overpopulation is a real and present danger. Thanos enforced the tough (but the right by the above definition ) to wipe out half the population so the remaining could live better lives.

Faith

Faith is (in my opinion) a fool's errand and by definition gambling. Success is rarely gained and moreover sustained by gambling on an idea. So I agree, Dan's faith is massively misplaced, (again let's look at the Steem bot non-sense).

I would agree that having faith in humanity is a great concept, but is is just that. Humans have proven time and time again that we are incapable of doing what is 'right' for the greater good as a whole. There are small pockets of amazing people and organizations out there, but they are not the people holding the chips.

PS, great response

Hehe I can't help myself either. It's glaringly obvious that Dan's flag was poor form, so it's much more fun to engage these bigger ideas.

I don't hold many absolute ideas about right and wrong. Is it right for a predator to kill prey? For the predator yes, for the prey species probably, for the prey individual no. Neither do I think you can escape the idea of right and wrong, if life is to go on.

If Thanos is right, then killing 50% of the universe gives conscious life forms the best chance to survive and thrive going forward. If Thanos is wrong, it's because letting them figure it out and survive or no based on natural consequences instead of arbitrary judgement gives conscious life forms the best chance to survive and thrive going forward. There is a consistent idea of the right result, just not the right means.

Faith and belief are problematic for me too, but still real and necessary. These are also based in our biology (as is the capacity to question them!) So when I walk, I have faith that the ground beneath my next step will be solid. I was not born with this belief, but I developed it as my biology adapted to my experience. I could not walk well otherwise!

Of course, I retained the ability to respond when my belief does not match my experience and the ground is not solid. It's clumsier and more difficult, but I can do it. In other words, both the ability to form beliefs and act on faith and the ability to suspend them and gather more data are a vital part of our biology.

So I have faith in humanity, realizing that the alternative is having faith in my own ability to control every outcome. I believe that evolution made us how we are and will continue to do so, sometimes painfully but generally for the best.

That doesn't mean I will trust a guy in a van offering free candy, or that I will believe a person who talks about free speech while using power to quiet dissent. If the ground does not feel solid beneath me, I am gonna watch my step.

P.S. Thank you for calling me smart!

Love it. Rather than steal the topic of this post, i will spin up another post to continue this, still lots to say :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62584.99
ETH 3171.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81