The Latest In Scammer Accounts

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Watch out for this... block these guys. Flag them.

Over the past couple of days I've noticed two new accounts giving me 0.00 upvotes. Their rep is 25 in both cases.

DSC_6945.jpeg

These accounts are meant to scam you, there is no other reason for them to exist.

The idea is to steal the funds if you try to transfer money to a legit account but make a typo and spell the account name incorrectly.

Check it out. Notice the spelling:

@openledger-dex <--- legitimate account (Account value $810,689.69)

@openledger-ex <-- the scammer account. (Account value $0.36)

@smartsteem <--- legitimate account (Account value $66,667.78)

@samrtsteem <--- The scammer account (Account value $0.33)

Do you see what the scammers have done by creating these accounts?

Be careful when you transfer funds. Make a typo and send money to the scammer by mistake, and I don't think you will ever get it back.

Oh wait, there is more. It gets worse...

Don't communicate with them by name. For example, don't thank them for their $0.00 upvotes or comments. I believe once you have mentioned them by name, your web browser may tend to auto-complete that account name when you are in the transfer screen. It's all a clever scam.

Witnesses - can we stop these guys somehow?

@themarkymark can these guys be blacklisted? Does Steemit really need to delegate 15 SP to them?

Sort:  

I would love to see the day when these scammers are punished for good!

Me too... I doubt they will ever be stopped.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Scammers are everywhere! I do not think we'll get rid of them ever!

I agree - but I like it when we find them and flag them down to zero.

Thanks for the warning, Keith!

You're welcome :)

Thanks for the heads up @keithboone. I've had a couple of phishing accounts come by lately but I haven't noticed any spelling account ones. I will be on the look out for them now.

It is pretty clever though. I just hope it fails.

It is clever, right? Also, for completely unrelated reasons, I have decided to change my account name to Jillianpearce

😂 😂 😂

Good eye! Thanks for the heads up Keith.

You're very welcome :)

Only follow people that you want to make transfers to. The drop down menu for the transfer will only show those accounts that you follow!

Right, very good point, thank you! I guess that's why they follow you and give their little upvotes... they are hoping for a follow back.

I like the way now when you transfer funds a screen comes up now so you look at the name and amount to verify and click to continue. It wasn't like that before.

You are right we have to be sure who we send funds to. I have seen bad things happen before.

I hope nobody falls for this!

When I first came here, bots were not and scammers were less. I have no idea what happened, but, the more they let in, the worse it got. They are everywhere!

Thanks so much for this, Keith!

Tip!

Thank you, Denise. It just bugged me and I figured why not blog about it? Thank you for the tip! :)

Hi @keithboone! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62276.80
ETH 3005.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62