Are we first? We are a merchant and we take STEEM as payment!

in #steemit8 years ago

We're an awesome artistic reclaimed furniture shop with a freshly minted online shop. We take STEEM and looking forward to adding the STEEM payment button. Very exciting new eCommerce time going on right here.

I represent Seattle-based Urban Reclamations, a reclaimed wood furniture shop in Seattle's SoDo district. I helped them out by getting their mostly-offline store up and running online over the past month or so, which was honestly my first foray into the world of eCommerce web-dev (and I hope to do more of this in the future!).

While we were in development, I had been chatting side-by-side with the proprietor (Patrick) about all things crypto. He's had enough exposure to this universe to have heard of bitcoin, and it was easy to get him to set up a company Coinbase account that I added to the site for payment, but his eyes got really big when I mentioned what was going on at STEEM. I helped him set up a Bittrex account and he says "Go for it" on taking altcoin payments like STEEM, so if you want to spend some of that hard-earned blog-posting money on some hand-crafted wood and forged-steel tables and chairs, feel free to check us out. (Currently we have Bitcoin set up for automatic payment but we can take other coins over an email exchange, so still simple enough).

URBAN RECLAMATIONS - Online and Accepting STEEM

Here we are after the opening. From right to left is Patrick, myself (representing with my custom STEEM t-shirt!), my good friend, and the other proprietor Steve, and an Urban employee Mark.

What a gorgeous day in Seattle, The shop is located on 1st Avenue just south of the baseball stadium:

Their passion is to create living, breathing pieces using hand-forged steel and reclaimed wood that has a soul, a journey if you will. They've been been featured on CNBC and in Inc. magazine, and also on the local channels such as King5, so they are getting some good media exposure, and their stuff is pretty awesome (in my totally unbiased opinion of course.... ;D )

They have a facebook page, of course, but I'm not going to link to it? You know why? Because STEEM is better. I've laid out where I think online advertising, which is what this post could really amount to, is going in the future. I think it's a good thing to have your ads be part of your content, subject to the same criteria as other posts, as opposed to banner ads and the like off to the side. I make a good case for it and I've spent a lot of time thinking about this subject, and it's a pretty good quick and easy read, so feel free to check it out. If this post reclaimed wood furniture posts is one of the first in the New Internet Paradigm that is microfinancialized peer-to-peer advertising, I'm very happy to be an early part of it.

I've also posted about having a #steem-merchant tag (or just merchant if that's easier) so we can immediately know whether a post is about a vendor offering goods or services that takes STEEM (or is in another way associated with steemit). I really hope this develops more here as a commerce aspect of the community that may be very valuable going forward.

Just to get that t-shirt a little bit closer up:

I spared no vanity adding @kewpiedoll to my custom shirt .....
AaaaaaHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA damn you steemit, you had me at hello!

I suppose this could serve as an introduceyourself post, since it's the first pic I've taken with my shirt, but I'm working on some other things as well and want to tell you all about that separately.


Note: for disclosure I talked to Patrick about everything related to how STEEM works and posts can get upvoted to earn rewards and the whole nine. He was like "that's your thing, I just want to sell my artwork!" so he is all good with me posting this.
Sort:  

Please confirm you identity via handwriting on paper and your casual photo. Shirt seems photoshoped.

it most certainly is not "photoshopped"!! (or in my case it would "MS-Painted"). Anyway, I'll put my shirt back on and draw a sign for you tonight when I get home. Thx for the tip!

congrats. I love the feel of wood..

thanks, I have mostly a technical background (fuel cells / batteries and the like) and I fell in love with their product design philosophy.

Wow, cant wait to see more of your work

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65122.70
ETH 2948.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66