You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 3 Things I Like to Change on Steemit

in #steemit6 years ago

I got phished within my first month and lost a bunch of SBD (money I had transferred in) . I read what you wrote and then got inspired and started leaving comments for people on introduction posts about each password and how to use each one. Then I realized after like the 4th one that 1. I was now technically spamming them and might get in trouble by cheetah or something (although I see lots of actual spam on those posts) and 2. It is not very efficient for me to do it manually. But of course, if you allow one or two people to have permission to spam everyone with their password post, those people will - in my time knowing about humans- 100% use it to make themselves lots of money and get new followers. I wonder if there could be an account that just declined payout and whose only purpose was to post about passwords to new people. Of all of the things that it took me a while to figure out here none are as important as not getting hacked. That really put a damper on me.

Sort:  

I am so sad to hear that!! That is why I think there needs to be more of place to find out about these things. I try to put as much information as I can in the daily prompt post, but it gets very overwhelming.
Right now, it is pure luck if you get to "meet" someone who is helpful. I was lucky to come across the MAP project when I was very new and there were super helpful people in the discord. You could go there at any time of the day and someone was there, answering questions.
But that takes a toll on the people doing this. they end up not having time to post themselves and are loosing out on building their own accounts - not sustainable at all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61926.98
ETH 3060.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79