Incentivising Comments on Steemit - With a New Display Option

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I have been thinking a lot about some of the changes being suggested in the next hardfork, in particular the changes being proposed for comments.

As a fiction writer on steemit I am always trying to encourage people to comment on my story, so I can get active feedback as I write my first draft - this will be invaluable during the editing process.

One of the biggest incentives for me to start writing on here, was the opportunity to interact with readers and gain that much sought feedback.

We need to find a way to convert this voting on posts mentality into a voting on comments one - or at least more than it currently does.

This is why I think we need to do something - if it isn't splitting the reward pool to incentivise comments to gain a reward, than what?

I think more attention needs to be drawn to highly valued/trending comments, If we added an additional display option (like trending, promoted etc.) then we could give valuable comments more visibility.

Here's a quick mockup from @ausbitbank of how this could look:

It could possibly feature the commenters profile pic for an image, a line of of the text of the comment - the same as in posts, instead of having a tag or the time it was posted it would show the title of the post the comment was made on.

I think this could not only incentivise comments, making them more visible -but it also highlights the posts that are generating valuable discussion.

This coupled with a small reward pool just for comments, could make a massive difference and encourage more people to not only be curators but active and dedicated commenters.

Though I do believe this could assist the situation, even without a separate reward pool as comments would be far more visible to be voted on.

I would love to know what everyone else thinks of this idea? Do you think it would be a valuable addition to steemit? Or do you have any other ideas or tweaks for this idea?


All images are either created by myself or available in the public domain and are linked to my steemimg gallery with all source information

Like what you've read so far?

or follow me on twitter @krystlehaines

Sort:  

This is a great idea! Since it links back to the original post, it will also help drive votes (and rewards) to posts that provoke discussion. Definitely a win-win.

That was my thoughts exactly, I have seen so many posts with great conversations but the overall post that was also great was desperately undervalued.

There isn't much of a downside in my opinion but that is why I am asking, to see if there is something I'm not thinking of - or some reason why this wouldn't work.

Yup, needed. Resteemed. Thanks for posting.

I opened a ticket for more interactivity with following of content, which also helps.

Thanks so much for the vote and resteem!

I really appreciate it, I just want enough people to see the idea - I think it could improve things a lot.

I agree with your ticket idea as well, I think that would help people find things again and continue to participate rather than just the one off hand comment per post .

Steemit is so large it's easy to get sidetracked and forget to get back to something, before the conversation has died out - this would really assist people who want to get more involved do so with ease.

Anyway thanks so much again :)

Welcome. Interactivity needs to be enhanced with features, not fracturing the posts from comments in separate rewards pol to drive bots into a new untapped pool to get their hands on... lol. Just replicates the problems we have now in a new place.

Yes, I think it's a good guess that the proposed higher comment rewards will probably come with a better display. Your idea is worthy of discussion.

Thanks for your feedback, discussion on this would be great :)

I think even if the rewards for comments aren't changed, this tweak could help incentivize discussion and voting on comments regardless.

It would still encourage people to participate, for the chance to have a high voted/paying comments to be seen front and center along with posts.

As people see others getting attention for posting good comments, others will be incentivised to join in - even if it's just for a chance of a payout.

I believe the rewards would then increase on comments because they would be easier to find, plus it helps promote the overall post that people commented on - this can aid in finding undervalued posts as well.

I do have to say that I think a higher reward would make this addition even more useful and valuable overall, but I don't think the change to the rewards is essential for this idea to at least help improve comment quality and output.

Thanks again for the vote and comment :)

Yes it's exactly what I thought (but didn't make a screenshot like you :) ).

Awesome to hear :)

Me gusta la idea! Upvote

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 13. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.81 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 13 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I think this is a brilliant idea!

Thanks for that :)

Welcome :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63096.57
ETH 2954.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55