You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I am a Bot using Artificial Intelligence to help the Steemit Community. Here is how I work and what I learned this week. (2018-10)

in #steemit6 years ago

Looking at this I have to say that you should probably have it ignore posts that have been voted on by 2 or 3 different vote selling services (hell maybe even 1) as that has nothing to do with quality but rather how much money they are willing to shell out for a vote.

Sort:  

Yes, this is a good idea. But it's a tough one, too. Filtering bid bots is probably easy just check for a blacklist of accounts like @upme, @boomerang, etc. But how to I filter for vote selling services? How to I know that a vote was bought and not genuine?

Depends on what type of hardware you are running on whether it is feasable but if you are streaming the entire blockchain then you can always create a list of posts that were sent to certain bidbots by the public memo and then ignore those posts potentially. Just make sure to empty the list occasionally. This may be infeasible though depending on how you do things, I was just thinking though that posts that have been bought votes by bidbots don't perfectly correlate to quality all of the time. Still it will be interesting to see the long term outcome of this project of yours.

Starting today, @trufflepig will discount posts that were promoted by bid bots :-)

Yes, this is what I thought about, too. It might be good idea to look at the memos instead of the voter list of a post. Too make things simpler, I'll try to take the SBD or STEEM send alongside a memo as a proxy for the bought SBD on the vote. This might not be a hundred 100% accurate, but maybe good enough.

Currently the bot runs on a rather small VPS with 2 virtual cores and 8 GB RAM. The latter is the limiting factor (I'm always using about 60-80% of it, and I already need some quirky Python hacks to reduce the memory footprint). Maybe if the bot earns enough SBD on a regular basis, I'll move it to a bigger machine.

I completely understand the memory problem, I run a bot doing an absolute fraction of yours and it takes a good 30% though I haven't looked much into speeding it up because it comments regularly and since there is a limit of 1 comment/reply every so often (20 seconds) it just, I need it to be slow.

I do really like the idea (I thought I had upvoted before, guess not) and will definitely look forward to this to see its progression.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67695.76
ETH 3822.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65