An Awesome Austin Steemit Meetup Experience with a Surprise Visit from Steemit Co-Founder/CEO Ned Scott

in #steemit6 years ago

I had a hard core fan girl moment last night when I got to meet Steemit CEO Ned Scott (@Ned) some of his Steem Team badasses including Jeffrey Paul (@sneak) and Pon Kattera (@pkattera) headquartered here in Austin, TX.
They dropped in at the end of our Austin Steemit Meetup Group last night. An awesome surprise!

IMG_5753.jpg

I have to share about my first Steemit Meetup experience and how awesome it was.

The meetup was held in a North Austin co-working space called Vessel which had
cold brew and beer on tap, fresh coffee, Topo Chico, cookies, chips and guacamole, hummus, snacks, & coziness. Mega (unexpected) hospitality!

The bearded sweetheart of a human, Richard Crill (@richardcrill) and his sweetheart of a girlfriend Lindsey (@lindseylambz) were our hosts. My sister and I felt super welcomed as first timers. Look it's Lindsey, Ned, and Me the Goofy Fan Girl!

IMG_5755.jpg

Richard began the meetup by going over his 3 keys to succeeding on Steemit: Consistency, Quality, and Communication.

Richard then introduced Rick Miller (@instructor2121) who was Steem early adopter and investor who shared good insight about apps using the Steem blockchain. He drove to Austin from Alabama to come to this meetup! Amazing!

Then we moved into a presentation by Kyle (@ajaxalot) who explained DLive, a Steem based live streaming platform. Kyle live recorded the whole meetup which you can watch in unedited form HERE. He also has a nice blog post about the meetup with links and time code markers of everyone's presentations. Super cool! I learned so much about DLive and what a cool platform it is.

After Kyle, we met I.J. (@steemcafe), a Las Vegas based-class clown-badass that shared info about his upcoming exciting event called the Steem Creators Conference April 13-15. Tickets are super affordable, there are fantastic presenters, and fun Vegas activities for Steemians to experience together. If you are interested in attending or getting involved / volunteering / anything - Check out I.J.'s post and follow him. He's so freaking funny. He flew from Vegas to come to this Austin Steemit Meetup. Amazing!

Screen Shot 2018-02-23 at 2.55.37 PM.png

Toward the end of I.J.'s presentation, in flooded the final Steemian power players I mentioned at the top including @ned, @sneak, and @pkaterra who jumped into a Steem Q&A, discussed Smart Media Tokens, and the future of Steem blockchain to create more powerful tools for entrepreneurs. Much of the discussion was based off Ned's @steemitblog post from 3 days ago: Steemit Winter Update: 2017 reflection, our Vision Statement and Mission, and a look forward. Check it out! Good stuff!

In closing, I'm must say I'm in awe of the enthusiasm, passion, and innovation in the Steemit space. People traveled from around the country to attend this humble Austin Steemit Meetup.

This happens because of passion, and passion is infectious.
Passion is what grows and empowers a community or a movement.
By meeting Steemians in person, I was able to tune into the authenticity, passion, vibe, humor, intelligence, innovation, wit, sincerity, creativity, and vision driving this community forward. Super fucking cool, ya'll.

Thank you!

IMG_5764.jpg

Sort:  

I've been looking for your post and just followed you! :D It's me Stephanie: the girl in the Steemit shirt! :) GREAT writeup. And I just wanted to say: you asked the BEST questions during the meetup. I was so impressed! I told my husband later: "I wish I could hire her to do interviews for me!" :D In my opinion, you played a big role in the meetup too, because you had some great questions that really added to the discussion and brought out some very interesting answers! Thank you! :)

wow this extraordinary meeting with face to face with one of the very handsome and intelligent that is @Net and his friends. thanks for sharing your surprise here with @ned.

Thank you! It was such a pleasure to meet everyone.

So glad you were in attendance. It was very nice to meet you and Christina.

You too Rick! Please come again ;D

Hey @laurascarborough. What up!? Thanks for the kind words. 😁 😂 So rad to meet you. You know @ogc & me have come see you perform. Love your energy.

You too! Speedy mending and hope to see you in Vegas!

Yes, girl yes! Love this post & you are the sweetest! Absolutely loved having you & your sis at our meet up - it’s bittersweet that Ike & I are leaving after next month! But I hope you keep attending the meet ups & spreading the passion :) send me those deets about your upcoming shows! Also, why am I making a nazi arm in that photo?! 😂💕

Oh my gosh, I didn't notice the Nazi arm until I read your comment. Soooo funny. 😂

We just had the Portland meet-up as well. Besides me telling Cannacon in Seattle about this. Hoping to change a few people's lives. More people signing up. Much love!

Building connections within your community and around the world. That's what Steemit means to me. Make life like what you want to live...

Blaze it! I'm dumping it all into Steem power and vote to help the cannabis community grow! Besides motivation from someone who is voting and helping the little guys.

Thanks for posting! The whole thing has blown me away. And steemit has allowed me to create a new goal of funding a film production company 100% with Steem!

It's all very exciting.

So great to see such great energy behind the steemit project!
It's nice to be able to place real faces on the key people.

Thanks for sharing.

WTF? I get you on here and in a couple of weeks and you go and meet the CEO. NICE!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66266.06
ETH 3031.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67