You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Ice Cube project (part 2)

in #steemit6 years ago

Very nicely done. Silicone molds can be a real pain to get to release, so bravo getting it all to come out in one piece on your first go. That is quite an accomplishment.

In the future, it might be interesting to use PETG as your printing material and to make an inverse tray. PETG is (supposedly) food safe, so making ice cubes in it should be no problem at all. It's certainly something I look forward to trying when my roll of material comes, which should be relatively soon.

Again, bravo. Well done.

Sort:  

Thanks @lextenebris. yes, it was very scary because the inner part are so small. But it really worked out. The silicone rubber is food safe :-). But thanks for letting me know. Oh, you ordered liquid silicone rubber too? I'm very excited :-)

No, no – I went the PETG route, in part because I could get this beautiful bright red crystalline filament from MakerGeeks which was too gorgeous not to pick up a kilo of while they had it in stock. (I also picked up some of their Crystal Raptor PLA in bright crystal blue because they almost always sell out of that really quickly.)

I am currently waiting for it to show up for my amusement and indulgence. My roommates have decided that we need some more cookie cutters and they really want the PETG for that kind of thing, and I would be a fool to dissuade them from their desires. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69471.12
ETH 3758.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83