Steemit: Integrity, Security, You are Your Public Face - Protect it!

in #steemit6 years ago

Good morning Steemians!

I am hoping you are having an awesome Sunday today.


Source

As I was clearing my WhatsApp Chat group finally after all the General Elections in Malaysia fever is dwindling down, I came across this really interesting image that was shared by a fellow group member.

This has suddenly struck a cord in my memory and heart to have a reminder to myself and especially to newbies in Steemit about how transparent this social network blockchain is.

The moment we take on this account in Steemit, looking beyond the money (earnings), this is a totally transparent non censored platform for all to have a chance to have their own voice.

But it also have come to my attention that many hackers are attempting to trick members into giving up their passwords / private keys for their own advantage.

Some could even be betrayed by friends / team members

I am just throwing out my concern right here. As I understand that I have several friends who manages their children accounts hold their passwords; which is perfectly valid because they are their guardians for their children; and some even help their parents by maintaining their passwords; because this is family

But I feel that there is a line that cannot be crossed unless there is a mutual understanding especially when it comes to mutual acquaintances; unless it is a public face account like @gtpjfoodbank for instant where this group could hire ghost writers to help post latest information if possible, nothing more.

But what happens when a friend ask for your private key (like posting key) to say that they will upvote for you?

Or even post on your behalf ?

I personally would say: Thanks but no thanks.

The Power of Posting Key

It not only helps on upvoting but it is has the power to post, comment, and flag. There are plenty of services like Steem Auto, which not only you can set up a fan based upvotes and trail a popular account, you could also plan your posts in the future; without anyone to assist you.


This was screen captured directly from the website

Well you may call me a "phobia" and becoming too sensitive on the security side, but I treat my account as who it represents - ME. Unless I can fully trust, or there is a recorded agreement that my ghost writer (I hired / appointed) will ensure that whatever he / she does keeps my integrity intact and not being manipulated for whatever reason behind it, I will not trust anyone with my private keys.

As the late Kapar Sigh has mentioned,

There are no permanent enemies or permanent friends.

This account is your face, your identity, your future. Because it is blockchain, you need to know that NO POSTS CAN BE REMOVED (you can hide it but it will stay FOREVER) as long as there is power source, Internet and the witnesses of Steemit stays strong around the world.

It is not like Twitter / Facebook / Instagram.

Heck, even during the most recent Mark Zackerberg testifying to the US Congress is unable to confirm 100% that your information is totally removed from the system when it is deleted / your account is removed.

More so in this Steemit platform.

Your content is part of the blockchain now, your post, your comments, with all your data from your wallet to you transactions. So please keep that in mind that whatever decision you make to trust anyone with your private keys except yourself, you need to know the consequences and never ever think you can point the finger back to the people you have entrusted your key with.

I know I could really be pulling this out of context, but think this Bible Verse does give a stern warning for a lot of recent, not only in a church context, but also in real life.

Beware of false prophets (friends / family). They come to you in sheep’s clothing, but inwardly they are ravenous wolves. By their fruit you will recognize them. Are grapes gathered from thorn bushes, or figs from thistles?
Matthew 7:15-16

I purposely change prophets to friends or family, because they are categorised under the same genome - human beings.

Humans are not perfect.

Even if we give the benefit of a doubt most of the time.

Heck even #steemit account password has a clear warning of it


(I personally believe this is targeted for ALL private keys)

So think twice, trice, if EVER anyone ask you to give your posting key (or any private keys) unless the account is a community account; if you do not want to be accused as an accomplice if something bad happens.

Just my thought of the day. I hope this post gives you some realisation as much as it has given me an awaken reminder.

Until then

mini-jess-smile-128.png
Thank You for Your Time

help-promo-a2.png
Please click on the logo to read why I have this project of 1000 SBD at the first place.


Sort:  

Trust no one!!
I thought I was paranoid... haha...
But it is true!! People are such emotional beings, you just never know... Thanks for sharing 😊

My dear @kaerpediem, you are far from being paranoid. I know you of all the steemians in #teammalaysia who has been a public face for a while would know perfectly well how important it is to make sure your integrity / identity of yourself is not compromised (portrayed by other people). Because too many do not take the blockchain seriously and they do not realise if their accounts are compromised for the sake of trust (posting on behalf) without a clear awareness the other person who holds his / her posting key could actually make use of it for something more than promised, like impersonation posting something that does not stand for his / her integrity could just do more harm than good in the long run.

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Now his son will continue his legacy...

Well, that’s only the political side of the photo 😄

have a great day@littlenewthings

looking after your keys and passwords on Steemit is the most important thing you can do,

I may also be untrustworthy but I also like doing my own post comments and votes so I would never share my password with anyone

You are right on that @tattoodjay , no matter how a "community mindset is", unless it is a community account, one should not take hold of another account's password unless it is either ghost writers or family members (like parents helping children, or vise versa)

If anyone start asking for posting keys "for the benefit of the community" (and not a service like Steem Auto for example) then to me it is a RED FLAG in trusting the one who is leading the community.

Ohh yes that is for sure a big red flag and I would be out of there

Good idea to remind folks not to be to fast to give out their password.

Indeed @redheadpei many are very gullible especially those who are new to Steemit and land into a community that may not be as true as who they say they are.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #137 (5/17/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86