Steemit Tip I Learned Today: Find Your Dead Followers....

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians!

Blessed weekend!

Today I have bumped into my friend's post today about a REALLY INTERESTING site that could actually help a lot of us to identify whichever steemian is deceased from this cyber world.

Wait... did you say.... "DEAD"??

Yep. You heard me right. They might not be really "dead people" following you, but could just inactive followers or that could have left Steemit for a really long time. And honestly, from my 79 days experience in Steemit, I have found one thing crucial.

Numbers don't matter if you have real people interacting with you

I have been very blessed to have some of my posts worth dollars (not cents) from a single upvote, all because there is actually a solid strong steemian who liked my original, quality based posts.

And that is why I feel, that as long as you build together with your solid followers and support each other, even though they are minnows, you will eventually all grow into dolphins and even whales one day.

So why the fuss with the numbers?

Don't believe me? Here's another steemian who thinks similar with me.
Food for thought #18 - All current Steemians are whales and here is why! - by @pisolutionsmru

So how do I find out who is dead in the Steemit world?

Introducing, the skull

http://steemit.deadfollowers.info/
Click on the image to go to the site

This brilliant site made by @mynameisbrian has helped us to filter out inactive steemians list and decide what to do with them.

You can just enter your name and then the page will show the summary. For my account, this is my summary:

The default settings is set to 1 month prior so that you may want to check out who they are and why they have been absent in posting. They could be away and you may need to just do a tiny follow up with those followers and re-ignite the connection again and move them from dead to true followers (bringing them back from the dead, literally?)

I have been very blessed that most who followed me are active and alive, and for my less active followers, I might need to start checking out their post and see how they are. Maybe they are on a vacation, or worse case scenario, they have been cleaned out by the Steemit Cleaners (those who check on plagiarism)

You can also change the filter to an even longer inactive members, and you can actually decide for yourself whether to forgo that account that follows you or not.

The only sad part is that you can see the result, but there is no way for us to drop inactive members.

So do you want to see how many dead followers you have?

Feel free to have fun with the site.

Thank You for Your Time

help-promo-a2.png
Please click on the logo to read why I have this project of 1000 SBD at the first place.

Sort:  

I have 172 dead followers!

OMG! That sounds horrible!

But you have 800 over followers, the ratio isn't too bad yet.

Gonna ask some gurus to see if there's a way to remove dead followers in the future.
Thanks for stopping by!

You don't need to remove dead followers IMO, at best you can try to mute them but there's no point muting a silent account.

After all it doesn't hurt anything, I usually just leave them be. It's who I follow that I constantly curate and maintain.

But that would not be an accurate statistics later. LOL. I like clean statistics LOL.
Thanks so much again for pitching in the idea.

hahahaha.. I get what you mean. false data dont sit well with some. And followers who dont do anything with their accounts are definitely false data.

I always felt like the followers I gained in my first month are 90% dead. :D

Would be great if we could remove them though.

I am sure someone will find a way... or maybe HF20 or HF21 might do the trick.

@littlenewthings I just started two weeks ago but already have 7 dead followers. Do u think that they might be some bots??

Clicking on the image does not take me to the site, can you please share the link. It will be interesting to know how many dead followers I have.

Hi @codedefined , thanks for the heads up. I posted the link at the wrong side of the image...

Give it one more try. It should be working now.

This post has received a 2.87 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @littlenewthings. Send 0.100 or more SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

So true numbers don't matter if the numbers are real and active. Link does not work. Can you re share? I want to check might be followed by the walking dead. This is helpful to reconnect or re ignite the flame. Thanks for sharing re steeming.

Hi @watersnake101 , thanks for the heads up. I posted the link at the wrong side of the image...

Give it one more try. It should be working now. And yes. I also realised that the list actually shows most of them are either not active at all or flagged as plagiarism contents. Steemit cleaners have been very active, so it is very important that our posts and contents are original from us. And that will definitely be the key establish good solid followers.

Thanks now we're rockin! I see I have 23 walking dead and the true follower whom I need to connect with.

@littlenewthings this is great post although I'm just some days on #steemit I'm just building my follower I will save this post it will help me someday.

Thanks buddy

Glad that this post will be useful in to future for your @steemitsamest . I have corrected the link so you can click on the image and it will head over.

The key thing to build your follower is never ever ask for follows or votes (and you return a favour). That's just back scratching and such followers usually will not last because as a minnow, you can never be able to please everyone

Instead, I would strongly encourage you to form really good solid original content of your own, and at the same time, meet some new friends here (just like how you have commented in my post here) by commenting on their post genuinely (not those "great post, follow me / come over to see my post" kind of trash, if you get what I mean) and then have your favourite writers to follow and make sure that they see your sincere friendship. (if they hardly reply your comments you can forget about it and move on and find someone who will equally value your communication)

Hope the tips above will help. And steem on!
See you around!

Great advice, Jessicca. Everyone should follow this, indeed :)

You've received a FULL upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a SteemIt community full of members who like to kick ass, take names, and occassionally do it wearing (or forgetting to wear) our unmentionables...

image.png

Interested in joining us? Come join our Discord server at:

https://discord.gg/7kYYrw9

#TheUnmentionables

Please upvote this comment to help us pass out higher dollar value upvotes in the future!

Thanks @unmentionable for the upvote! Appreciate it a lot!

This is great! 49 dead. Must go check to see if I am following any of them!

Yes, that's actually really important, to make sure we are not following the dead.

Thank you so much for making time and visiting this post

I've done pretty.well at staying on top of this..only following 1 of the dead and he's unfollowed now. This is a great tool.

wow, that's pretty good record @melinda010100 . Glad that this tool I found from my friend @ana-maria works.
If it wasn't for her post, I'd probably wouldn't have found that out myself.
Things That Make You Love And Hate Being One-Year-Old Steemian

I have 7 dead followers haha... thank you so much for this post, imma gonna resteem it!!

hahaha ! Well done @melancholee ! Only 7 dead! Which means you are at the right network of people who loves to read your posts!
That's really an amazing achievement!

Thank you so much for making time and supporting this post!

er not really~ i only have 107 followers hahahah...

107 solid followers is better than 1000 dead ones, wouldn't you agree @melacholee ?

Does it also tell you who the dead accounts are that you follow? I'd really like to see that as well.

I think I'll build that feature into @spectacles soon :)

Hi @pilcrow , I think this is a list of dead followers in general. So far because I have very few accounts I follow so I don't have much problems.
So @spectacles is a different feature?
Looks like there's another place to look into and write a review too!
Thank you so much for making time and visiting this post.

Yeah spectacles is an app I'm making to help you gain insight into you followers. It's not open to the public yet, but we plan on launching a first version soon :)

oh! looking forward to see how it works @pilcrow!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60682.45
ETH 2903.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54