LIFE AS WE SEE IT

in #steemit6 years ago

So many a time I have heard people as the question "what is life all about?" Some simply put "what is the goal of life?"
To this quuestion many answers have been given..
At 18 an old man told me; Son the essence of life is to attain peace of mind. Till date I still ponder over his words with the question; HOW CAN ONE HAVE PEACE OF MIND???
Yes! How can one have peace of mind in this world of turbulence, confusion and dismay?
How can one have peace of mind when there is natural and man-made disasters knocking on your door at d time of your wake.
Where is the peace in the politricks of many African nations, where is the mind when mindless fellows render rural dwellers homeless for non justifiable reasons....
I think he lied...
As an extension officer the things I see in the hinterlands drives away the peace from my mind, so quickly that even my sleep has to join in...

Tosin age 14, top of her class, as bright as she is, she's being asked to marry a 40 year old man against her will.
"Uncle corper if I get the opportunity I would like to be a nurse" she would always say to her teacher currently serving at her school.
When asked why, she would reply; "our village clinic has no nurse, that aunty that holds the key to the clinic comes there only on market days (4 days interval), I want to be able to help my people when they are not feeling fine".
Her parents are bent on her getting married as this man would solve their poverty issues. How can I blame them, they live in a remote village 244km away from civilization, they need an escape route the man was willing to pay two hundred thousand naira for her bride price...
Two weeks gone and her body is found by the highway, no eyes no fingers, dead she is, and dead is her dreams.
Ignorance killed them both!
I couldn't help but ponder; what could I have done to salvage the situation, and there goes the peace!!

Kemi's has pregnancy complications, she has to be taken to the hospital, that should be 6 hours away I guess! Concrete advice just dig the earth and bury d girl, how can a 15 year old pregnant girl survive that distance on a motor bike, riding on a gallopy dusty road! How she wished her village had a medical centre. Anyway they just had to try and again the ship sank into the deep, taking along with it my peace... "I need to do something about it" was the thought, but how was the question.

headerOur leaders don't care, even when we plead with them and our parents see it as a way of life...

This is just a rural view, no forex, no bitcoin nor block chain.
There can never be peace of mind when there are issues revolving around us.
TO BE CONTINUED...

#LONELYTHOUGHTS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70018.15
ETH 3794.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75