You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Third Update to July 14th Security Announcement - Account Recovery Begins

in #steemit8 years ago

Thank you for pointing out the need for a good password manager. Some of my friends think the world isn't ready for public/private key encryption on a mass scale, but I like to remind them how at one time many saw email as too hard. Now it's second nature to just about everyone. Internet users can and will skill up and hopefully Steemit will help. If we want to build the economy of the future, we have to up our game, including the latest security updates on our computers, up-to-date anti-virus software, and a good password manager. Let's lead the way to the future economy.
Steem on.

Sort:  

This is a 2nd chance. Don't f up. Change PW and use something secure mix of up and down, special chars etc. Write it down and store it somewhere safe. In support, you wouldn't believe the amount of people that forget their passwords and can't recover their accounts because they didn't set up recovery questions or kept a copy somewhere safe.

If human beings are coming up with the passwords instead of a good password manager, they are already at risk. But yeah, password security is hard. (Cue XKCD post here...)

Its nice though not to be as worried about it as much as other cryptocurrencies, as long as most of your Steem is in Steempower. :)

I don't think I've ever used the word "as" 4 times in two
sentences before.

5 times.
(And in 1 sentence. :D)

As one who has seen many exchanges get hacked, I completely agree. As we move forward, we have to act as if we're our own bank.

(dang it, only got 3 "as")

I don't think I've ever used the word "as" 4 times in two sentences before.

If they are using the web interface, the web interface could "cut" easy to guess passwords by requiring long password at least X chars, containing symbols, numbers, letters, caps, etc.

Haha, that's true, buddy. :)

I think a piece of hardware like the Ledger Blue wallet will have to become widespread as the crypto age ascends.

I am going for a 256 characters password! Just to be sure.

Perfect comment! We do need to step it up, I feel like a bimbo because I assumed I wouldn't get hacked.
Then I did...

I'm assuming my account is not compromised?

Lastpass with yubikey has been amazing for me. Makes 60+ character passwords no problem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67287.17
ETH 3516.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.16