You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Open Letter to The Community: Why Equality of Opportunity Matters, not Equality of Outcome

in #steemit8 years ago

know your strengths, use them to add real value to the platform

YES! Very well said. As a programmer, it's been fun for me to contribute statistics based on my exploration of the blockchain data (follower counts, exchange transfers, change in Steem Power over time, etc).

I suggest we abandon this confusing term and start using equality of opportunity and inequality of outcome to more clearly articulate things.

That's a fantastic idea. I really like that perspective. The language we use here is so important.

Indeed, if high productivity people work and risk 10x more, well, it’s common sense that they should be rewarded proportionally more.

I can already hear those who disagree reply to this and say something like, "Yeah, sure, but why do they get 100x or 1000x on their 10x risk? How is that 'fair'?" I don't have a good answer for them right now other than, "You can go start a company also, if we have equality of opportunity."

This is only a seed, I do understand that it will be tricky to define active users in such a way as to prevent abuse

Yeah, I see some problems with any changes from a game theory perspective. I've been learning more about Sybil attacks since coming to Steemit, and I understand a bit more why things are incentivized the way they are right now.

4.. Post feed enhancement:

I'm not really a fan of this one. If I click on someone's user name, the first thing I want to know is what type of content they produce so I can decide to follow them or not. Increasing followers, I think, is the best way to get your content noticed.

Sort:  

Thanks for your contribution @lukestokes. I suspect the response to the 1000x return will vary on your belief about how the market works. If you believe, as I do, that the market is rather efficient and that you will generally not get 1000x return repeatedly without proportional risk and effort, or if you do, it's just due to luck or something really new, not yet exploited by the market, then the answer is quite straightforward I think.

Indeed, it seems extremely high returns tend to come from betting against conventional wisdom, but then again, it's important to remember that conventional wisdom is usually right.

As for the post feed enhancement, I specifically said that this should be the case only when you open your own profile page(I.e. www.steemit.com/@lukestokes. It should create a separate incentive for people to start paying more attention to their personal news feed as opposed to only the steemit.com front page.

only when you open your own profile page

Ah, thank you! I missed that part. In that case, I get the idea, but from a UI perspectives, inconsistencies like that are really confusing. Most users should experience the same thing, regardless of who is logged in, IMO.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68799.09
ETH 3831.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63