You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Favorite Writing Topic? Speculative Fiction

in #steemit6 years ago

Speculative Fiction. I like that; it does encompass a lot. Any fiction needs to be entertaining , but if it also doesn't

get people to think, too.

then in my humble opinion, it is not worth reading. Even most cheap escapist fiction has an element of "hmmm" to it.

I have to say I've been liking your "Grandpa Gotta Eat" posts too. They make me smile to imaging you cooking for the whole gang there.

And I loved seeing your book covers too. Did you do the 'art work' for them?

Sort:  

No, that cover art is commissioned. I had the first one commissioned on Guru, a freelancer site. I really liked it, because I was going for a comic book cover style. I actually had the same artist do three covers, but he took so long to get me the second one (I think he actually finished the third book's cover first), that I had another artist, who actually writes epic fantasy (then does his own covers) to do the second one. I ended up with two covers for book two, but liked the one above better.

Yeah, I can't seem to just throw out a story without it have some kind of "hmmmm" to it. When I was 19, I could. Ah, to be 19 and oblivious. No, not really. Wouldn't trade what I know now for anything. :)

Well, I'm glad you're entertained by my culinary attempts. I can't compete with the cooking blogs here (which are much more expert and generally vegetarian/vegan), but I figured I could probably build some kind of audience out of people who like to read me bumbling my way through things.

I've always been envious of artists and have taken up watercolor painting before and wasn't half bad, but I could never pull off something like your book covers.

There is not enough money in the world to have me return to my 19 year old self. Although in some ways, a re-do would be nice, because I would certainly do a few things differently, but then I know I wouldn't be where I am now, so I guess I wouldn't want to do that.

I really like your bumbling self, it's cute :) Please for the love of god, if your wife sees that, explain how innocent I am. I don't want the wrath of the 4'9" Mexican cutie after me haha

I think you're good. She isn't much for computers, and I work out in my office. I don't think I've ever been cute, but certainly not since I was maybe five or six, but hey. Call my bumbling whatever you want. :)

Some people can put together pieces of art in no time flat, take them from rough sketch all the way through color in a matter of hours. Not me. Coloring has never been my thing, from crayolas to Photoshop. So, while I can do a decent storyboard, I'm not going to be the artist in full production. When I get the MISSES comic book up and running there will have to be pretty fast and pretty flexible and a jack of all trades, or else I'll be hiring at least an artist/inker, a colorist and a letterer. It'll get expensive real fast.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59110.01
ETH 2990.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72