Food for whalessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

Seeying as I cant seem to get a whale vote no matter how I much I post these days I decided to make a food for whales post. Its no secret that whales like plancton but there is more to whales than just eating microscopic particles in the sea.

WHAT DO WHALES EAT? Source : http://www.whalefacts.org/what-do-whales-eat/

When it comes to survival few things are as important as shelter, rest and food.

For marine mammals such as whales food is not only extremely important for their survival it’s also important for maintaining balance in the oceans ecosystem.

In order for whales to capture their food these marine mammals search and hunt for their prey using a variety of techniques in order to locate, isolate and immobilize their prey for easy consumption.

Because there are around 90 different animals within the cetacean family it is important to understand that not all species of whale hunt or attack their prey in the same way.

Depending on the whales size, social structure, environment, species and type (baleen or toothed) their diets can change drastically from small aquatic life forms such as fish, shrimp, larvae, plankton, crabs, krill and squid to large marine mammals (which are generally consumed by killer whale) such as sea lions, walruses, seals, sharks, seabirds and even large whales.

One of the most useful abilities whales use when hunting for food is known as echolocation.

Echolocation is a trait that is found in all species of toothed whale.

Echolocation works by emitting a series of clicking and busing noises and then listening to the echos that bounce off of objects in the area (such as fish or other aquatic life forms).

The amount of time it takes the echo to return to the whale can provide these marine mammals with vital information such as how far the object is, how dense it is, whether it is hard or soft, and whether or not the object is moving or still.

By using echolocation whales are able to determine whether the object is prey, a predator or an inanimate object.

These amazing marine mammals will continue to create these sounds until they find the prey they are looking for and then decide the best method for hunting and attacking their prey.

I have always loved these large mammals, hopefully by posting about whale food and plancton I can get the attention I need from these large steemit creatures and get some proper upvotes as this will help me to life my spirit and give me a reason to keep posting and increase the quality of my content.

Have a great day

Lorenzo

Sort:  

Hmm, still I somehow think that maybe chocolate cake would work better on our kind of whales...

Feed meee

Are these peanut butter bites alright?

I don't like peanut butter though. Like chocolate.

Then how about.... a minty chocolate fudge pie?


Now we're talkin!

I really am craving chocolate cake right now

Sorry... actually, so am I!

Don't worry about the whales.

Well when I see every other post on my feed getting 50$ plus in revenue and Im struggling to get upvoted by anybody with some decent voting power I have to start to wonder... Anyways I love whales that swim and hope that they stay around for many years to come.

I'm not sure there are even that many whales swimming around in our ecosystem anymore... or that they are even curating. Besides, a school of dolphins are friendlier and more entertaining than whales.

Hi @denmarkguy
@barbro from Ramta headquarter here!

@mallorcaman is lying his teeth of his head as we say in Norway.
Yesterday he made a post about a question. We answerd him, voted and even voted for one (not good) comment:

mallorcaman
65 · yesterday
I wish it would rain here, all we get is hard sunshine and heat!

$2.75 (not bad for just a comment)

He did not even care to answer our long answer to him, if he understood it or not.

Today he is crying again He he he ;-)
"Echolocation is a trait that is found in all species of toothed whale."
Well, they do not use the echolocation to find cry-babies He he he ;-)

So, today we will try to teach him a lesson like whales and orcas and dolphins do in real life with their children.
We will unleash our Vote Cannon on everybody in his post but not him He he he ;-)

PS. We love Denmark and have been working there
Have a nice day

well when you look at the trending posts and payouts I have to beg to differ. Also anybody who has a 70 rep or higher gets upvoted and earns huge sums just minutes after hitting the publish button

LOLOL... Hahahahaha! Nice, amusing post, Thanks!

Whale food indeed! :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

lol, happy it made you laugh :)

Same here hahaha, I'm not the popular boy in school :-)

1
image source
LOL

OMG, lol well It was meant to be a funny post with a point!! :)

You started to talk about

whale vote

Soooo :-)

Sorry :-)

Hey, don't worry - I have yet to be whaled. It's all good. Good content is often ignored on SteemIt.

A very interesting post dear friend @mallorcaman I must admit that I ignored all this information about whales, thank you very much for all this data

I'm not a whale @mallocan, but I like this post and I have found you and upvoted you in my buried feed, my friend. LOL Keep Steeming!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of May 10. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $20.40 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 10 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69812.77
ETH 3740.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83