Humans or Bots!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I have recent became a member of the Steemit clan & as with all new platforms/systems, it take some getting used too.

There is a lot of advice, tutorials & video's about Steemit, which talks about building a network of followers, write good content and create a personal.

Comments on posts and engagement in eminence is also a hightly encouraged and debated subject in many posts.

In summary, the above, the essence of what social media platforms are 100% about.

Voting BOTS?

I tried this upvoting thing on one of my posts, Naked & Afraid - What's is your profile.

Voting Bot Designed by Freepik

So as a result of me trying these bot systems, I received over 200 upvotes on a post, awesome! For which I am very thankful.

But ... there is something missing.

In my post, mentioned how important it was to have a Profile Cover Image.

I was curious to check out some of the profile accounts. I was utterly shocked, over 80% of those profiles DON'T have a Profile Cover Image, very few have a Prifle Picture and most have the bear minium Profile information completed.

These are the user profiles on Steemit that is upvoting my post. You notice a trend!

Did they read my post?

The impression I get is that these bot upvoting systems are not even reading the post ... they bots! Just an auto-upvote, Yippie I upvoted the post!

MRP_Steem_Divide_3.png

Eminence Content

Why am I putting effort in to drafting and authoring an orginal article and I would like to share, empower and distribute to social media, when a bot comes along and screews things up!

Is my content worth it weight in SBD?

I don't think so. As a Plankton, that is exactly what is meant, drifting in the blockchain ocean and hoping someone bigger will swallow you up. It is the Whales and founders of Steemit that carry all the power, leaving the minions at the bottom to fight it out.

Conclusion

For now things are not added up to me. I feeling like my grade 12 algebra is somehow outdated, then in addition to thr integration of blocks & chains, it feels like bondage, not social media!

Sort:  

Well I guess anyone who is new to steemit feels the same somehow the way you described. I agree in a healthy environment there shouldnt be bots around doing humanly things. On the other hand I accept bot system on steemit as some kind of a help for beginners. Because you are not known by other people when you first started, you need to take attention of others. And for some natural reasons people tent to get attracted by the 'popular' things. So bots help you by sending huge amounth of upvoting to your posts to be noticed by others (who are humans). Of course If you are an old steemian and still use bots that means your content is not so quality featured. But If you trust your content creation ability using bots help you at the beginning of your journey to reach the people you can interact with. So briefly no need to be negative about this bot thing. Lastly I admit that maybe there should be some other ways to reach steemians rather than with bots. There are such ways but not implemented in steemit. Instead of making circle of critics we can go faster by talking about what kind of new content spreading ways we can offer for steemit is much better. Lets not forget social media didnt start with steemit so there is a huge experience we can observe and choose the most suitable solutions for steemit.

Thanks for your comments and feedback, nice to hear that many new Steemian’s have similar concerns, but better still to hear that things get betterover time.

I hope you're happy. I totally updated my profile because of this post. 😄 The only thing that i disagree with is, why would the bot be looking at a screen? Wouldn't it just be streamed directly to it? Just a thought

You never know just how clever these bots can be! 😄

@marcrossmann hope you are very happy, congratualtion man, After reading I am so serious about update my steemit account
thank you very much 💜

Cool thanks a lot for the feedback!\

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by marcrossmann from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66