Improvements To SteemIt (To Make Browsing Easier)

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Improvements to Steemit.png
I'm 90 days into my SteemIt journey now.

I absolutely love the platform and I spread the praise as much as possible. I share posts on Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, and often even mail an email list of 20,000 subscribers to attempt to spread the word and promote adoption.

It's become a bit of a new obsession of mine.

With that being said, there are a handful of things that I feel could really improve the platform. I have no clue what the best way to share my ideas for the platform are, other than simply sharing them on my blog here.

Here are a few of my thoughts...

  • Add a Delete Button on Posts - I don't understand why we can't delete old posts. Especially when posts are often duplicated by mistake when SteemIt acts up. I understand not wanting to remove the content from the blockchain. However, I think a button that simply allows us to hide content from our blog feed would be beneficial. The content can still remain on the platform and on the blockchain but simply hidden from our blog's feed.

  • Separate Bot Comments From Real Comments - It's a bit frustrating to see so many fake automated comments on posts. In the same way WordPress blogs can separate pingbacks from comments in the comments section, it would be nice to see SteemIt separate automated bot comments from real comments. It would just make it simpler to interact with real people and ignore the automated comments. I'm not sure if this is possible because I don't know if, in the code, there is any differentiation between bot comments and real comments. But I think it would be a "nice to have."

  • Allow "lists" similar to Twitter - It's difficult to keep up with everyone I follow. I'd love to be able to segment the people I follow into lists, similar to Twitter. I follow people because they talk about cryptocurrencies or because they're great photographers, etc. I'd love to be able to create a list of cryptocurrency people that I follow and a list of photographers I follow and just view streams from each of those lists. SteemIt has a lot of issues with organization, in my opinion.

  • Allow me to filter my language - I want to be able to exclude content in languages that I can't read from trending, new, hot, and promoted sections. Things like filters and lists will really help declutter SteemIt and help us get to the content that's most relevant to us and that we care about reading the most.

    In my opinion, the biggest hurdle that SteemIt needs to overcome is that it's difficult to find the stuff that I'm really interested in. It's just a bunch of giant cluttered lists that are mostly just junk. Allow me to organize the content that I want to see how I want to see it. Create filters and lists. Allow people to delete accidental or junk posts. Make it easier to spot bot content vs. real human-generated content. Combine all these and we'll be a lot closer to an enjoyable user experience.

    There's a long way to go and I have plenty more suggestions on the way... These are just my initial thoughts.

    I don't know the best way to get these ideas to the people behind SteemIt, other than sharing my thoughts and hoping that enough people agree enough to upvote it and share it.

    Anyway, those are my thoughts.

    I'm all in with SteemIt and love the platform. I'll keep experimenting and sharing my thoughts.


    If you enjoyed what you read here, don't just 'retweet' it, don't just 'like it' elsewhere. Make sure you sign up and UPVOTE it, here on Steemit and share in the rewards! Also, if you enjoy what I put out, be sure to follow me here on SteemIt as well.

    Stay In The Loop With Me











Sort:  

Gave ya a resteem, these are great suggestions. Hopefully these can be implemented in the future.

I appreciate that! Thank you.

Another suggestion, there should be a notification of the comments, replies, and upvotes.

Isnt there a browser addon for that?

Exactly that was the one I was talking about. Not sure how good it is though. Never used it myself

I'm not sure. Do you know the name of it if there is?

Agreed. I'd love to see an app as well. Keeping up with replies on posts can definitely get difficult.

Those are some really cool improvement ideas; am really advocating for adding a "delete button for posts".

I understand that the idea of a blockchain causes issues with deleting since info on the blockchain is distributed. However, at the very least, let us simply hide content from our blog that we no longer want visible...

I think some of the applications listed over at steemtools.com might allow you to sort your feed and followers a bit more. Also check out busy.org as a more 'follower' focused interface.

NEVER look at the main trending page (unless your a sociologist doing analysis) is my strategy for dealing with this platform. Only your feed.

Many of these ideas are sensible. @timcliff and many others sometimes post roadmap posts, look out for those and add them in.

I appreciate the tips. I wasn't familiar with Steemtools. I'll dive in there. Thanks!

These are some good suggestions. You might consider writing some of them up and contributing them through Utopian.io

Thank you. I hadn't heard of Utopian.io until you just mentioned it. I'll definitely be looking into it and, if they're not already there, sharing some ideas. :)

Great ideas! I also think it would be awesome if they added the ability to add Polls/Surveys to a post as well as an invite a friend option (with possible small bonus to both parties involved).

Yes - I like the idea of filters for languages I can't read in the feed, and for some way of cataloging posts (lists).

Maybe they can't have a delete button because the posts form part of the black chain? Excuse my ignorance if this has nothing to do with it.

Yea. I think that's part of it. I believe you can't delete posts because, once it's on the blockchain, it's locked in. However, I don't see why they can't have a button that essentially deletes it from view. It's still on the blockchain but just hidden from your blog and in any feeds it was in. The content isn't removed from the blockchain. It's simply hidden from view.

That's my thought on how to solve it at least.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62947.22
ETH 3174.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81