Steemit VS 'Real Life' - Or About Fate

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Get ready for a long ride peeps.

What is 'Real Life' after all? Or what about Steemit.

I've been talking to a lot of people lately, young/old, on/off Steemit, about what we define by saying 'Real Life'... All of us on Steemit and Discord all day long say 'I got no life' or 'what's real life?' -since we spend a lot of time online. But isn't that online time 'Real Life' then? I don't talk to bots, I talk to people. I interact with them, I know they're out there - some I met in person, some not yet, but they're all living humans in this world...so how is spending time with them online NOT 'real life'? Just because I'm in the house -technically- alone? Just because I can't touch them at this very moment? But I can see them, hear them and talk to them all the time, about everything - isn't that what's REAL LIFE is all about after all?

Some people are talking to me about Social Media addiction.

Yes, maybe it is - a little bit. Never had that with Facebook as much, only when talking with friends there, or other social media. And you give yourself excuses like 'But I 'work' there, I 'earn money'. Let's be honest: IT'S NOT ABOUT THE MONEY. The money is just a pleasant surprise in the end of the day. It's about connecting and feeling included.
Most people I know here in Copenhagen are in a bad place. Financially, existentially, personally... We all have problems - even health problems, I might add. Comparing to Athens, Paris and Rome, that are my other 'homes' I know much less people here - and I was always a social person. Just, sometimes, you realize that ... well, let's face it, WE'RE ALL ALONE.

I don't wanna make this a sad post. But I am going to share some sad things to make my point. When I was 16 my first, high school [platonic and one sided] love died tragically in a car accident. He was only 18.

It took me years to get over it. And still, almost 20 years later, I'm still thinking about it. Not with the same pain, but I still do. I'm still thinking the WHAT IFS.

They say we only get one big love in Life - what if he was mine? Do you believe in soulmates? It would be so depressing to think we only have one in this world, wouldn't it?

So, what if Steemit broadens our horizons? In friendships, relationships, social life, actual life, REAL LIFE?
What if we're not just geeks in front of our computers [or dorks, as a very favorite Steemians called me the other day :P ], but what if -instead- that's our door to somewhere?

I was always the kind of person stuck in my past or worrying for the future. You know where that led me?

To always lose my Present.

And that's why I'm happier now. Even though nothing really is going amazingly in my life right now, I don't think about 'tomorrow'. I just live the NOW - for the first time in my life, and let me tell you this...

It's completely deliberating.

Try it! Try one day not to worry. Try to forget and breathe. See how it feels. It's neat, isn't? So what if Steemit gives us this WAY OUT, this HOPE? Is it not 'Real Life'? Is it an addiction, really? I'd like to think differently. Of course that's all the addicted people say I guess :P

Almost since the very moment I joined, I consider Steemit a 'special' platform.

Ok there are always exceptions but most people in here are more intelligent than average. And I'm not saying that the 'racist' way or whatever, it's a fact. Simply because it's more complicated than other social media. It takes time, effort and talent to shine in here. It's not Facebook, or Twitter, or even Instagram. Those don't even begin to be enough comparing to what we have here.
So do I wanna spend more time 'online' with valuable people and talk about life or do I wanna go out with people I don't care, spend a crapload of money for 2 drinks in Copenhagen and talk bullshit? Yeah, call me anti-social, addicted, dork, or whatever you want, I'll ALWAYS take the first one. Especially during those sad times, that no one is there anyway in real life.

Do you believe in FATE?

Destiny, pre-written, or whatever you wanna call it. I most certainly do. That's why I have it tattooed on the side of my waist. Because I believe there's a pattern. Ok maybe universe has better things to do and maybe the reason behind things we do is just stupid, BUT there's a pattern, that leads us and takes us places. Literally or metaphorically.


from a text phone game...

What about @steemfest? Isn't/Wasn't that 'real life'?

Didn't we talk, eat, drink and dance together? Weren't we there live? Who cares that we're far apart now with @teodora, @immarojas and @osm0sis? And another 10-20 people we interacted a lot? Aren't we keeping in touch? What, it doesn't count just because we're 'online'? Well, fuck that [and you know I rarely write that on my posts]. I could start mentioning now, but it'll take like another 3 pages for that so maybe I need to close soon...

I wonder how many relationships are going to start on Steemit. Not just couples who joined and got married later while being already Steemians. No. People who actually met through here.

Imagine, once upon a time we were saying 'we met through friends' - then in the Digital Era we would say 'we met through Facebook' - or Tinder :P I wanna see that amazing crypto moment, that intelligent digital path where some people will have this dialogue, in like 20 years from now:

-So Mom, how did you and Dad meet?

-We met on Steemit honey.

-Wooo,that was the first blockchain based social media, how old are you Mom???

And the conversation would probably end there, haha!

Do you believe that time will come?

Do you feel the same way about stuff I wrote or am I all alone here too...? Please share your views - comments and resteems are much more important here than upvotes... 'cause in the end, as I said, it's not really about the money now is it...?

I did a meditation session the other day that mentioned a very wise thing: Our thoughts are like clouds. Sometimes they're small, fluffy and white, and sometimes they're huge and black and they cover the blue sky.

Remember though that...behind those clouds, the sky is always BLUE.

Aren't we all...playing Wicked Games after all...? [Nobody loves no one (?)]
via YouTube

Have a splendid day peeps and don't forget to smile ;)

Yours


Banner by: @bembelmaniac

follow_meanmommy33.gif

SS-pansies-EN.jpg(https://discord.gg/D2V8nq9)
Banner by: @thekittygirl

All photos by @meanmommy33 - taken with my iPhone SE, random pictures from all around [strangely some of them in BW...]that I thought they fit with the style of the particular post ;)

Sort:  

Sometimes, I feel like I have to excuse the amount of time I spend on Steemit by putting it down. I make the time spent away from my computer "bigger" somehow with the IRL label... but what am I doing in real life?

  • Grocery shopping, in which I do interact with the attendants and staff kindly, but rarely on a deeper level than "How is your day going?"
  • Driving from place to place, typically alone or with my partner.
  • Speaking to my partner.
  • Walking alone in the woods.
  • Occasionally attending a social event like Knit Night or climbing at the rock gym

Very few of those events, even the ones where I'm connecting with people IRL result in the deep conversations about topics I'm interested in: Feminism, the state of world politics and crisis, arts & culture, gender and racial inclusion/diversity, the development of innovative technologies and companies, cryptocurrency, quality content curation.

But, when I bring up what I do on Steemit to folks outside my network, they look at me like I'm crazy because I've developed seemingly deep relationships "on the internet." What about pen pals? What about relationships before technology? They were different and they were, more often than they are now, much deeper.

The internet is the tool that helps me create deep relationships that are unhampered by time zones, geography, language barrier, cultural difference, and even opinion difference. It'll take a personal effort on my part to not shrink my life on Steemit but I'm going to start doing it. Just because people don't understand cryptocurrency, doesn't mean they can't appreciate a community of creative, open, and like-minded individuals gathering in one place. 💓

My dear Amelia !!!
I don't know how I managed to miss this amazing comment, so sorry! Probably it got mixed with others and I failed to check it !!!
Oh....you bet that people in my 'real life' if they're not on Steemit they look me like crazy... ok except of one of my closest friends, that she is not on Steemit yet but she knows a lot about it and understands crypto and all - ok, she doesn't think I'm crazy... neither does my boyfriend who is on Steemit too .... but the rest? Oh.... yep.
Someone else mentioned pen pals and it's exactly the same, I completely agree. We just fail to see it I think because it wasn't 'technology related' at the time.
I love how you put it in the end - fingers crossed that this how it'll happen !!! <3

Life is all about balance. Make a list of what is important to you most in life and prioritize it, then find balance. Steemit, Family, Discord for social, house-work, appointments, cooking, all good priorities, then divide time enough to pop into each category. Excellent eye opener

I do that often but that's the thing -technically I'm jobless so no appointments, I hate to cook, family in Greece [well, only 2 people], house-work doesn't take that long anyway, so that leaves us to........ Steemit and Discooooord :D [addicted person revealed ahahaha]
Seriously now, prioritize is the key, I believe that too... Thank you girl :* :* :*

Amen to that! Couldn't have said it better myself.

What you call or refer to as real life in this post would not be called real life by our Indian gurus here. Bottom line, it's ok to Steem.

I like the relation part reasoning, i like mean mommies as well, Ha :-)

So what would be called real life by the gurus? I'm curious to know!! :D
The thing is... over-steem...that's the issue haha ;)
Thank you deary!

Warning!

This user is on my black list, likely as a known plagiarist, spammer or ID thief. Please be cautious with this post!

If you are the author of the post and you want to be removed from our blacklist, you need to write a 
#steemitabuse-appeal / https://steemil.com/steemitabuse-appeals/@zahidzzs/steemitabuse-appeal
post. You have examples
here / https://steemil.com/steemitabuse-appeals/@zahidzzs/steemitabuse-appeal
or
here / https://steemil.com/steemitabuse-appeals/@livelifefullest/apologize
.

We will start sustained flaging until we get a resonable
#steemitabuse-appeal / https://steemil.com/steemitabuse-appeals/@zahidzzs/steemitabuse-appeal
.

If you feel that this is a mistake you can read the official Steemit
FAQ / https://steemil.com/faq.html
to see what can be done to fix this error!



yeah i totally think steemit is a special place.. there is a different energy here of possibility and openness that i've never found on any other platform (and i've used many, from myspace to instagram, facebook, wordpress, etc...).

I think steemit holds the power of synchronicity moving through it because it is decentralized and so many bring good will and energy here. anything can happen on steemit and i agree, it enriches so many of our lives for the better.

i oftentimes say IRL friends just because i can touch them and, in some way, online presence doesn't feel as real as those friends i can touch, but you are right in saying the the emotions and connections are real. i have certainly been touched by interactions on steemit, cried, even, and keep coming back for more. that, to me, is very real indeed <3

MYSPACE OH MY GOD ahahahahahaha !!!!! Those times !!!!! xD I remember Hi5 too....my God.....
Anything...that's what I'm saying too, but in a much cooler way than in other places hehehe!!! :D
I feel you - I had all kinds of interactions so far too and I think....that's only the beginning... ;))) STEEM OOOON !!!! [To da moon! xD ]

<3 <3 <3 to da moooon!! and i think the "overuse" goes in ebbs and flows, for me at least! i was pretty addicted my first few months, it's tapering off a bit now that spring is hitting and i have work to do outside :D but i'll still be here <3

For me it worked the opposite way !!! My bf @creutzy who introduced me to the platform was the one obsessing at first and now he's the one telling me off instead :P ahahaha!

hahahah! love how the tables have flipped!!!

ahahaha yes....... you should see his face he tells me 'are you on discord again...?' and then I'm like 'sorry honey, I have a team to run' PRICELESS ! xD

I've never been one to spend much time in front of the computer, to me I want to spend time out doors. But being on steemit, I have become part of this global community, I have connected with people who wish to be pro active in bringing about change in their lives and in the the planet. To me that connection is very real and very inspiring. I do not feel alone, knowing that so many others on here and out in the world feel the same as me. Steemit has huge potential in bringing people together, all the new things I have learnt and the knowledge being shared, that is something to celebrate.
Thank you for your article @meanmommy33

Ok, to be fair, I was never too out-doorsy hehe [once a dork, always a dork I guess :D ]
But it's not the same as before, no way!
Isn't it amazing knowing that whatever time you go online, on Discord, someone will be there to chat??? And not some randon person at an anonymous chat you know nothing about [end of 90s - beginning of 00s times...]
Thanks for your input :))) I really hope most - if not all- people in here feel the same!!!

I'm glad I found your post because I needed these words today and I can very much relate to a lot of the things you said. In real life, I don't see a lot of friends anymore and I feel more connected to people I meet here than people I see everyday at work. Sometimes it feels odd that that's the case but it feels real here, and I'm glad that you shared these things. I am not alone then! In just a few months here, it felt like I'm going out again although virtually. And this:

Try it! Try one day not to worry. Try to forget and breathe.

I will try. I've been feeling anxious again lately. I'm a worrier and I want to get out of that. I will try. Thank you!

It makes me so happy that this post made you feel even a bit better !!!
It's not odd !!! It's real life if you ask me ;)
No, you're not alone!!! And I'm happy to see that neither am I!!! <3 I think you should totally join us at @steemsugars !!! [you'll see the link to the discord under the banner at the end of my post] We're an awesome group of ladies with the goal of bringing more ladies into the platform !!! So hope to see you there!!!
And yes, try - only for today, to just enjoy the now. It's hard I know, who am I to talk anyway .... but sometimes, it works !!! And I promise you you'll feel a loooot better !!!! :*

Words are really powerful and your words had that effect on me. I'm amazed how real it is! Thank you too for the invite. This is so sweet <3 I will check out @steemsugars the name alone sounds fab! :)

I don't believe in "One True Love," and I don't believe in fate. I believe online life is real life (even though I use IRL as shorthand for offline), and have the friendships and other relationships to show for it.

I don't like to quote Dan Savage, because he's been problematic in some aspects, but one of his regular sayings is "there is no one, there's the 0.87 we round up to 1" (the digits change), and I totally believe that. Believing there's a "one" also negates the truth: that relationships, even the very best ones, require work on both sides.

Will there be blockchain-social media babies? Probably. I won't be surprised at all to learn some have already found love here, and if Steemit is going to be successful, it's gonna grow. A LOT.

The human mind is very good at creating patterns and narratives to make sense of the world. That's a big part of why stories are so important. But I don't believe in externally imposed patterns and narratives. In the end, to me, the story is what we make it to be.

I think you should make a post out of that @didic .... how beautifully written.... <3 Thank you for that...
Stories are important indeed...and it is what we make it to be...Well said my friend, well said :)))

if you feel connected, empowered, loved then that to me is real time, how we spend it is up to us and nobody can tell us if that's the right way or not as we all respect time in different ways. i got fed up explaining the HOW of what interests me, the people that gravitate towards me always will and the ones that don't well don't and often i won't know about it.

i say do your thing ;) you already have the answer.

It's about connecting and feeling included.

bingo. it's the biggest social experiment of basic income with accountability to each other based on the blockchain ledger, we picked the right place to do it -- steemit is awesome.

Thank you @teamhumble !!! You're expanding what I said the most wonderful way!! And yes, I'm fed up too explaining, and apologizing and feeling bad for being here because it seems weird to those who aren't. Well, their loss ......

park the energy used in trying to EQUALIZE how you feel about it and INSTEAD embrace how you feel and put that ENERGY in to the universe, you'll find your people. maybe it's time to travel more often, create some mini meetups with people on steemit around you, take up a new hobby, move beyond backwards thinking and EMBRACE what you want for your own life and let others fit into place. you don't have to fit into anything you don't need too.

Ahhh YES this is real life! Thanks for reminding me - I have to write the blog about a Steemit-like platform I was on 15 years ago - there were marriages and babies and all! So don’t worry - it is REAL! And as anything in life: as long as it feels good and real and honest it is fine to spend your time on it <3

Please do write about that !!! I'm very curious to see something similar from that long ago !!! :D

YES! I'm even going to find some screenshots of the very very old website :D

oooooh yes yes YES

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 68055.12
ETH 3813.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72