How valuable is the upvote button?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I suppose, coming from the culture of Facebook, I'm used to clicking the 'Like' button - or in this case, over here in Steemitland, the 'upvote' button.

What I've noticed of late is that I make a post and almost immediately, people comment that they like what I've written. They've read it, appreciate my work and everything.

In the space of a few minutes, the first of today's posts had - 16 views, 11 comments (some of which were mine in reply) and THREE votes.

I'm coming to the conclusion that some people are missing a trick here.

CURATION IS AN INCOME STREAM!

You are MISSING OUT if you don't vote!

It costs NOTHING to upvote something you like. You have a set amount of voting power EVERY DAY and if you don't use it, it doesn't 'roll-over' - you lose it. It's GONE! Someone else has benefitted from it.

Newbies - this platform is like nothing you've ever seen before. The concept is awesome, and there are many powerful tools to use in conjunction with Steemit.com.

Steemnow by @penguinpablo shows who voted recently, what your voting power is at and various other information. Use it!

[Steemify] by @blockbrothers is a fantastic app - sending notifications to your phone so you can see everything your Steemit account is doing.

Steemd.com is beyond awesome! You can find EVERY transaction on your blog from the moment you set up your account. Go to the link, type /@yourname and watch the magic!

I was always a fan of @heimindanger's SteemWhales but he's busy right now and it hasn't been updated recently.

What I'm saying is this:

Steemit.com is not just a blogging site. It's not just a site to beg for cash, upvotes, follows and the like. Steemit.com is far beyond your imagination in terms of blogging, connecting, interacting - learn how to use it and yes, you really CAN make money from it - you can make money from it in more ways than you think.

Don't just follow and unfollow when the other person doesn't follow you back - this is not Twitter. Give as well as take. Give comments, feedback, views and opinions - and upvotes!

Give and thou shalt receive.

True Story.

Sort:  

You are missing a point actually. You are saying that clicking upvote button costs nothing. But in real it does cost something. Every upvote drains 2% of your Voting Strength and takes 2.4 hours to regenerate. Why don't you think that those who come visit your posts and give no upvotes are better off to spend their voting strengths on other posts, for example their own posts.
:)

You are totally right. Most of them are commenting to get upvote from you. I see some posts very very long and someone comments immediately like good post, thank you, etc. We need to respect for labor.

Hiii My friend @michelle.gent.

in detail you describe the whole story in your article about amazing plateform Seemit. you also told here about the apps like srmteemnnow, steemify, steemd. no doubt they are much informative.
yes i agreed with you about the Upvote value for both. Your article is a guideline for newbies. I always impressed from your writting style.
Apreciated you and fully support you.

Give as well as take.

UpVoted.

keep it up, Stay Blessed.

POST for Thanks Bro

I'm following back and I'm sharing the content of followers organically. My account for following back is:@followback

I'm not bothered about small curation rewards as a minnow (or mini-minnow (micro-minnow?)) as, eventually, the rewards will grow. But only if I'm active.

So to other newbies, or nearly newbies, I'd say stick with it, even if your Steemit time is at a minimum.

All the best!

Upvoted and resteemed.

So true words. I have also gotten comments from smaller fish and when asked why if they enjoyed the post did they not upvote I get- "my vote is too little" ... they do not realize that yes even if your vote is small it does matter. It maters to the person who wrote the post and to themselves if they are to grow.

The other thing you should have mentioned is the resteem!
If they upvote and resteem the rewards could be much greater

Depending on how the post does it also benefits both the upvoter and the poster. Even if you don't see the amount change in the value section if several small fish vote it will move and a value will show. Minnows swim in schools! There is power in numbers. So to all you little fish reading this -

Your Vote does Matter!

upvoted and resteemed

We use the same Steemit tools. : )

I agree that Steemit is all about interaction and would like to add that the focus should be on the meaningful interaction.

One note: if you upvote short comments like "helpful post, thank you" or "me like this" or "I like your blog" you might be actually encouraging people to comment on your posts without even reading them.

Cheers! : )

Thank you for commenting. I don't usually bother with the 'throw-away' comments or those that don't correlate with the post they're commenting on. For example, I write a writing tips blog and someone said 'I can't wait to see this made into a film' (paraphrasing).

Can you imagine, 2 hours of writing tips on the cinema screen? Worse than watching paint dry! ;)

POST for Thanks Bro

I'm following back and I'm sharing the content of followers organically. My account for following back is:@followback

I am a newbie myself and when I upvote I am not giving any money I think I spent it all already for this week.

Check this link Steemnow you have 18.37% voting power left.

Voting doesn't cost you anything but voting power. Your Steem doesn't reduce when you vote but it can increase with curation rewards.

Thank you for your upvote. I appreciate it.

That is true, an up vote does not cost anything, but to some people, especially beginners it might make a whole day! I really do not understand why people follow if they are not interested in the content provided.
Thank you for sharing the information about applications as well. I really liked the post

You're most welcome.

Thank you for commenting.

Thank you, so upvote and *enjoy *your day

Yes, absolutely! Using this platform with the only aim of making money will ironically get you nothing. But constant participation and interaction with other Steemit members with genuine interest and appreciation in their posts will get you more popular.

This community runs on selflessness. One can't be selfish and expect others to be selfless. Thank you for sharing. This is a post well said. :)

I think every successful community runs on selflessness :) Good point :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61906.25
ETH 2905.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64