You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: To Discord, or not to Discord

in #steemit6 years ago

I can't be on it for more than a few seconds and I have to log off. It's too much. I can't keep up with the conversations, let alone the conversations in the sub-threads. Each channel had their own rules, many of which I didn't grasp very well because I didn't follow them very well. I read them more than once.

Eventually, I just gave up. I don't need to add to my stress. Really, I truly don't. And being on Steemit is hard enough (time wise), Discord was just eating up the same amount of time (so it felt).

I shouldn't need like four tools to use one platform to keep up with what's going on that platform. If I had someone to walk me through it the first time, it might have been better.

I'm not technologically inept by any means. For some reason, Discord just screws with my head.

Sort:  

I truly empathize and understand you. It can be very confusing and time consuming. I'd say that you probably discovered it a bit too early, and felt overwhelmed.
Definitely agree with you that there shouldn't be external sites that we depend on in order to navigate Steemit. And that is exactly what I been also pointing out... and Discord seems to solve a lot of things that bugged me... But, when you're too new to Steemit, it's too much.

Hi @miklkent, if this helps at all, please check out what @aidnessanchez wrote above. if you ever go back on Discord, this might help balance things out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63578.68
ETH 3314.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94