You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Steemit Doomed - The Demise of a Promising Platform

in #steemit6 years ago

We are impatient creatures really. We know that the long term prospects of the platform will only exist if users can be retained, but seeing little or slow progress is disheartening, especially when the ones making visable, faster progress are mostly the self serving ones.

I don't think it hurts to create a balance between upvoting as a gain for yourself (good content of course) and supporting minnows. As you grow, you benefit the minnows more anyway, so it's not an entirely selfish act.

I would only give out up votes for higher reputation people as I thought I would get more curation reward

I can't say I ever thought of It for higher curation rewards, but I think higher reputation attracts more supporters in all social media. For me, a low reputation and a really good article means I might be more likely to double check for authenticity.

Sort:  

I completely agree that self up voting is ok if you post something which is really good content. I am tempted to do this for myself, but I figure it's going to be more rewarding if the platform will grow.
I would be happy to see the self up vote gone all together.
Steemit has a real problem with user retention, so really more needs to be done to try and fix that.

But that's also why I think there needs to be some kind of taxation system, where a small percentage say 1% of higher ranking post earnings goes into a pool which is dished out to people who up vote users at a lower ranking. So you earn more by up voting lower ranking users because you get a bonus in the form of say SBD or SP.

The trouble is new members are like hot potatoes. Not many people want to touch their content no matter how good it is.
This in turn leads into the problem of really low quality content for the platform. Why would you spend 2 hours writing a really great blog post when you can whip something up in 2 minutes and earn half or quarter the amount.

When I first started I could see the higher ranking members got more rewards, so naturally I thought if I up voted their content I liked I would earn curation rewards.

I completely agree that self up voting is ok if you post something which is really good content.

While self voting has its uses, I was thinking more along the lines of upvoting people you know will get you curation rewards with regards to balance. Curation also goes straight into SP which is of benefit to those you're voting for.

Self voting I reserve for competition posts where I want to try and increase the reward pool, not that my vote is worth much. I also think if you're going to do it, then do it after the majority has upvoted so you give them the better curation reward benefit.

The trouble is new members are like hot potatoes. Not many people want to touch their content no matter how good it is.

Sad, but true. At least for those who could actually make a difference. It's also getting harder to find good content in amongst the flood of daily posts. There's no reward for it to encourage it.
I recently reported an account to steem cleaners which had a bot posting copy/paste every 5 minutes. It wouldn't take many of them to clog up the new feed.

When I first started I could see the higher ranking members got more rewards, so naturally I thought if I up voted their content I liked I would earn curation rewards.

It took me a while to even discover I could get curation rewards! 😆

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63697.39
ETH 3145.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83