Why my boyfriend likes steemit

in #steemit8 years ago

Today I tried to understand why my boyfriend likes steemit. Before this (hours long) conversation, which included toilet breaks and snacks I thought I knew. I was wrong. I was just wrong about so many things.

This is what I thought was the reasons he liked it before we had this conversation and further down is a list of why I now think he likes steemit.

Why I thought my boyfriend likes steemit

  • He likes it because he can't figure out how twitter works
  • Wordpress just isn't for him
  • Facebook is too personal
  • There's some cryptocurrency thing going on, he likes cryptocurrency stuff

Why I now think he likes it

  • There's a cryptocurrency thing going on (I mean, I was right about something.)
  • The content is crowd curated and people who matter has more of a say on what good content is. It's not like Facebook where everyone's likes are just worth the same. I mean, we all know some shizzle content bubble up on Facebook. (let's blame brexit on Facebook)
  • Both authors and readers (I like thinking of them as curators though) get rewarded for taking part.
  • Users are customers not products. So, unlike many other free platforms, as far as I'm aware, steemit doesn't sell user information. Like, "give me all your data in exchange for this service".  Users are actual customers...
  • It can solve the problem of bad journalism. I think we all know that people really like clickable sensational headlines. Free newspapers are surviving on advertising. We are paying for free journalism by receiving bad content. In steemit, you only get paid if you write good value content. 

Please note, I might still be wrong about why he likes it.

Picture of my boyfriend.

Just kidding, he's got more hair than that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71289.49
ETH 3819.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44