BEWARE OF @BITTREC PHISHING ACCOUNT!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20171001_201053.png


Like a snare of the wicked @bittrec lurks in the dark waiting to steal from you.

And steal they did, from me: 110 hard-earned STEEM. It hurts, considering that the funds were meant to serve a big need for me offline.

Then I figured it's not enough to just cry over this and move on. Sharing the experience, with the hope of making sure another innocent person don't fall victim, to the gain of this malicious phishing attempt, is definitely value for the steemit ecosystem.

It's easy to blame anyone for being careless. I mean I was the first to blame myself. But then cut me some slack. My Steemit activity has had to happen on my mobile phone. 100%. That is the only option right now. It's easy to skip a detail on a small screen, especially when the eyes and/or brain are tired. Also, "bittrec" is a rather new addition to the many phishing accounts who try to disguise as a trustworthy entity (in this case @bittrex exchange); so new that it doesn't receive the attention of Steemit Inc's effort to protect its users, by warning of the threat in red font. I hope @ned and his team take note of that and do what's needful.

Beware of Bittrec (and the other) Phishing Account(s). It goes without saying, double and triple check your transactions. No one really deserves to reap where they did not sow. Also, no one should sow and not reap.


IMG_20171001_192731.png


I hope this helps someone. Please resteem and warn the new users under your monitoring. Thank you.

Ubokobong Akpan,
Concerned Citizen of the Steem Universe

Sort:  

Thank you for the warning my friend and I am sorry about you getting robbed. I hope you will recover it soon. Keep Steeming. Don't let this discourage you. :)

Thank you very much, to your friend too, for that reminder and assurance that I will recover. It's just a little bump along the way. Steemit holds a lot more ahead for me, for us ❤

That is the spirit, my friend. Love it. I am sure we all have bright futures on Steemit. I just hope it never closes like TSU. :)

As the possibilites on here are endless. :)

Oh no, this is just so bad. Don't beat yourself up, everyone one makes mistake. And thank you for this post, we really have to crack down on these phishing accounts.

I just hope none of us falls victim to these wolves in sheep clothing again.

Don't be disheartened, keep steeming @misterakpan. You are awesome.

Thank you, my dear. It'll be behind soon. Regards ❤

I'm so sad to hear this happened to you. I, too, am 100% mobile and worry about this happening. Resteeming. Thank you for the warning.

Thank you, Janelle. I hope to be the last to thread that gory path of evil. I'm glad the warning is serving some use. Sometimes it's best things happen at a particular scale to serve as precaution against it happening at another more aggravating scale.

Sorry about this, bro. It's just unfortunate that the scammer is patiently waiting for the next victim.

Thank you, bro. Let's hope I'm the last to step on his trap.

Oh really, seriously all these fraudsters are really evil. This is not my first time hearing about this stuffs, some people also act like a whale and they will ask you to pay money so that they will be upvoting your posts. Please let us be careful, fraudsters are everywhere and @misterakpan I am very sorry for this

Thank you, dear. It's okay. Already gotten over it. I'm sure I'll recover in no time. We just do our bit to inform others so no one goes that road again.

That's really messed up. Sorry bro, it happens to the best of us. I lost 30SBD in a similar situation, working off a mobile phone can be hell.

Hope you earn it back 3 fold bro.

Oh bro. Thank you very much. And trust me I value that gesture of generosity than the widow's mite. Yet another amazing person on Steemit, and from Nigeria. Amazed to connect. Following you now. Best of luck to us all. Cheers.

No problem bro, glad I could help. And I'm following you right back 👍

How did this happen?
So sorry bro

This kinda account should be flagged to oblivion

You can report to @stellabelle
I know she has a way of dealing with such intruders
.but can u share the details please

I really don't think there is any thing that can be done to the account. Flagging it will hunt the reputation score but it wouldn't stop it from operating the account and accessing the funds. Moreover, the account has nothing to flag. No posts, no comments.

It is set up to exploit people's typing mistake when trying to send to @bittrex. It is a common trick of internet fraudsters. It's called phishing.

Congratulations @misterakpan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This was such a sad story, thanks for warning others<3

Congratulations @misterakpan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62983.95
ETH 2962.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58