You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The two dreaded words...Income Tax

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Thought provoking article and hopefully the tax community will be proactive. I think it is a difficult subject - but ignoring the matter does not mean answers magically appear.
It will remain difficult to determine capital gains.
I have spent a little time thinking about this. I believe one route could be via regulated exchanges which provide members annual data. What do you think about this?
Wish I could have participated in the radio show.

Sort:  

I think anytime the data is provided for you it's great. Covered securities provide cost basis and gross proceeds on a 1099B and this is very helpful, they do not provide basis on non covered securities and this allows a like wriggle room, there is a lot of wriggle room with crypto in general, but the reward on steemit does make me a little anxious I will admit. I have the feeling that most steemians that had a print out of what was required to be reported would ignore it, so I don't really know what to think in this moment, I have been thinking deeply about it since November 2017 and still I have not yet made any personal conclusions. Hopefully more discussions and tools can be discovered.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63106.36
ETH 3262.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87