You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Use Headers on Steemit

in #steemit6 years ago

Thanks for more information on formatting posts. What I don't understand is why Steem Inc. just doesn't build the formatting tools in so that HTML doesn't have be be used. No one likes complicated things. This is one serious source of friction that needs to be corrected so that everyone can easily make well formatted posts.

Sort:  

There are more to come!

I can answer your question. The problem is at least partially browsers. While Chrome fairly consistently sticks with the conventions for the HTML language, other browsers aren't necessarily as "in tune" with the standards set by the HTML committee, resulting in things looking different on different browsers. This includes IE, Edge, FF and even Microsoft Office and emails! There's nothing that Steemit can do about browser creators changing how HTML works. The same problem exists with markdown language.

That said, I'm using Chrome and not everything works. Clearly, this is also partially because of Steemit. In fact, older guides on HTML and markdown for Steemit have things listed that no longer work!

It would certainly be nice if, one way or the other, things were easier. However, markdown can't do everything that HTML & CSS does, and they aren't always cross-compatible, meaning that unless Steemit fully embraces HTML & CSS, or another complete choice, there will have to be both. Sorry! &#128561

Great discussion. Thank you.

I'm a bit of a geek and about 8 years ago I decided to finally overcome my lack of knowledge of HTML and CSS. So I purchased a great book: Head Start First HTML with CSS & XHTML. I studied during my ENTIRE Christmas break. It was interesting to learn, but in the end, like so many things, I decided that I didn't want to write my own code for a website. Most of what I really did learn is no longer with me. What you explain from does make a lot of sense.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59281.33
ETH 2982.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74