Maturity Cycle of Crytpo-CoinssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

I read an interesting article by William Mougayar regarding the three stages of ICO projects and token sales. He breaks it down into three evolutionary phases where crypto coin initiatives can grow stronger or die. The most promising will graduate from one phase, to the next.    

Darkness Phase 

This is a lot of talk, but not much to show for it. Characterized with idea sharing and promotion to garner support. 

  • No demonstrable product yet. Protocol or app are not deployed yet 
  • White paper may still be in draft/revision modes 
  • Team focused on a heavily promoted token sale with little attention on the product itself 
  • No indication of users, customers, networks usage 
  • Lots of social and blogging about what will be done, as the main activity, active Slack channels   

Transition Phase 

A major milestone where Alpha/Beta products become tangible assets to highlight feasibility, scalability, and key capabilities. External testers and users begin providing crucial input to the continuous-improvement-cycle.  

  • A working demo available, not just a mock-up or simulation 
  • Testnet or pre-production deployment for scalability testing and tuning  
  • A growing list of early beta/test users, customers, and developers 
  • Announced release date and signs/regular-updates the team is making progress  
  • Increased & regular Github activity   

Reality Phase 

Only the elite make it this far. Product is in production with a growing base of users and supporting ecosystem. The value proposition becomes truly meaningful. 

  • In production with visible, credible and tangible signs of users and a supporting ecosystem 
  • Transaction volumes and other real metrics available 
  • Real customer and user growth, driving value to the market   


The article, which I recommend reading, can be found here: https://medium.com/@wmougayar/the-reality-quadrant-in-ico-projects-and-token-sales-part-ii-fee324274f93   

Steemit in the Ranks! 

I am happy to report that the author has ranked Steemit with the elite. Accompanied by other names such as Bitcoin, Ethereum, Ripple, Dash, Storj, and Siacoin, Steemit is firmly in the Reality phase. With more users, growth, interaction, and transitions, our community and platform is growing.     


Image Source: https://medium.com/@wmougayar/the-reality-quadrant-in-ico-projects-and-token-sales-part-ii-fee324274f93 

Sort:  

I have read your post. I think it's very useful and useful. Because the post explains about a great project. And I rate that a new breakthrough. I am very interested in your post. Thanks @ned

One of the best steem posts I have read on this platform. I wish we could have a minsky analysis on top of this as well as google trends analysis versus USD price. :P

Interesting post indeed! The fact that Steemit is REALLY used is a very bullish sign. I remarked that I enjoy using Steemit a lot and that a very special community is born. This community has a very strong network effect, the network effect of a (more used) currency can't beat this. This made me power up to get more out of my time on Steemit and as an promising investment.

The interaction of the users is the backbone of Steemit.

Yes, I really see that as a strength compare to other alts

Great read.
You must be a wings fan to classify it among the 'elite' class. Its still fairly early in alpha...
Im also a wings holder/ forecaster so hopefully development produces.
I enjoy the whole bounty idea behind forecasting too, so can see the value in obtaining a nice stash and holding.
Which is similiar to holding and voting with steem

2 out of 11. Not bad.

Are you looking to increase that number Dan? :)
...perhaps going for Gold, Silver, and Bronze?

Happy to note that Steem is in reality phase. There is still so much potential in Steem.

We are just at the beginning of a journey. One that we all get to determine where we go and for how long.

Gotta be honest.. never touched Storj or Wings but I agree with the rest of the list.. Steems one of the few coins you can actually earn DO stuff with (like influence content).. thats what makes the project interesting.

I have been playing with Storj. I did a few posts on it. It has potential if the market latches on and they can prove value (security, responsiveness, data-confidence, and availability). Same is true with Sia.

I've held Sia off and on only because it has good volume.. I think Stratis is cool as well. Steem and Ethereum are cool because you can do stuff with both of them. I wish they had smart contracts when I was a kid - every keg party, gift or "tab" I had to pay would have been a smart contract.. Post the pictures on Steemit - earn some Steem. I love projects that actually accomplish some goal!

Thanks for sharing! Nice to see it that way... sometimes you just need to step back to get some perspective.

I agree with the four stages, and seeing Steem, Ethereum and Bitshares on the reality side makes me happy! Feel like I invested wisely :D

Thanks again for a great post!

Found this highly informative article through @ned, so thanks for that. Thanks to @mrosenquist as well. I am a newbie here, but I am certainly happy I joined Steem, looking forward to its amazing future! I must look into other cryptos!

Glad to have you as part of the community.

And happy to be here! I am really wanting to invest more in to steem, but its all new territory to me. =]

Thank you for posting, great article. Followed and upvoted! :)

Thanks. Followed in-turn.

Thanks for the info @mrosenquist. This is a great point of reference to see where each of the initiatives are in relation to each other. Being new to the world of blockchain and cryptocurrency, this kind of information is really valuable to my learning.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61906.25
ETH 2905.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64