Sort:  

Some people like @reseller and @kenanqhd have done VERY well utilizing DTube so there's definitely something to be said for it.

That said I think it really depends on each persons situation. If your monetized no Youtube and have a high CPM I think you potentially could make more from Youtube not only in the short term, but even more so over the long term.

Steemit which comprises @DTube we only earn for 5 days so that's 5 days to make your money as opposed to eternity on Youtube. Also if my Steemit post gets 1,000 views that video is going to make me $15 or $20 just off the views from this platform and that alone is more than I've ever made off a DTube post.

Now one thing I'm not really taking into account is being consistant and consistantly uploading videos to DTube over some sustained amount of time to really give myself a chance to build an audience, that has worked out great for @reseller and @kenanqhd among many others. For me my content isn't as appreciated on this platform as it is on Youtube. If I was making crypto content or content about Steemit itself I would probably do better and it would probably be more worthwhile for me to upload here but at least at this point in time steemit and Dtube are somewhat insular in teh sense content about Steemit and Dtube and crypto are what tends to do the best IMHO

The 5 day earning limit is absolutely crucial from a profitability standpoint. The owners of media libraries know very well that licensing and royalties for leasing content is an extremely valuable revenue stream. Just look at how Netflix and Hulu cycle through content that they didnt produce themselves.

Hey buddy, are you saying the 5 day earning limit is good for Steemit and Dtube or its good for creators?

I know intially that almost stopped me from using Steemit in the early days, i'm all about passive income and a little effort upfront for passive earning or traffic down teh road and that is one huge thing that Steemit lacks. I understand the reasoning for it but early on that was a huge turnoff for me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63381.65
ETH 3169.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85