You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Voice" (MEOS) Announcement ... Much Ado About Nothing

in #steemit5 years ago

That was an enjoyable read. I wasn’t overly hyped up over the June 1st announcement, however I was sort of excited. I made sure that at midnight I was sat in front of the computer ready to catch it when it broke. I hold a decent quantity of eos so with pen and paper in hand I eagerly awaited what all the fuss was about... so after watching probably one of the worse examples of public speaking (literally I believe though talented we probably have some undiagnosed autism with Larimer and co) I was left feeling a bit disappointed. Yes new innovations in key management, social media, hard pushes towards new block chain social media are exciting... but in regards to announcing it all?... well it could have been managed better. I do agree with the fact that there was noticeable anxiety in the Steem space before the announcement, and can’t help but wonder when a massive clobber will occur in regards to management of the many many looming problems we have here. Voice could down the line be that. Hasn’t fully launched yet so it’s a wait and see sort of thing. I have only just started reading your posts btw and I enjoy the balance and way you bring across good questions and points. Thank you for the enjoyable read and look forward to your future posts.

Sort:  

@mudcat36,

I have to admit, I was astonished ... and not in a good way. The whole point of conducting a $4.2 billion ICO was so that someone would finally have the capital to "do it right" ... like something we'd expect from a Fortune 500 company. I've seen far better performances in High School theatrical productions.

The actual announcement aside: Supposedly one of the world's leading cryptocurrency production teams released a crypto-backed social media platform ... that wasn't crypto backed! Tokens whose only use is to amp comments! Are you kidding me? That's what's supposed to attract millions of worldwide users!

The problem is that these computer guys have never lived in the real world and seem incapable of distinguishing between that which is saleable from that which is not. They can't seem to empathize with people sufficiently to be able to intuit their reactions (which speaks to your comment about potential spectrum disorders). I'm not saying any of this to be mean, I'm saying it because it constitute's a systemic risk.

What I'm desperately hoping is that this was a close enough brush with death that it scared STEEM/Steemit Whales and Witnesses into getting serious about reforms.

Please be Scared Whales. Please be Scared Whales.

Quill

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59241.52
ETH 2989.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71