Why I learned English… | MVD

in #steemit5 years ago

Most of you know that English isn't my mother tongue and to be more specific, I've learned it nearly three years ago when I first came to Australia with my husband. This was our most significant move, we’ve ever done in life so far.

English - mvd.png
Source

Before learning English, I lived in my little dome where I just heard the latest news from my friends and from the one and only news channel (in my mother tongue) that I listened and watched too. I also watched German TV, but the channels that I used to watch just influenced and brainwashed your mind. I’m glad that I don’t watch TV anymore.

It’s not only knowing how to speak the language, it’s also what’s behind it. Getting open-minded, being internationally active, leaving my country to discover something new.

Knowing how to speak, write, listen and talk in English has a special place in my heart.
Most of them are advantages, but there are also some disadvantages.

Positive:

  • I can read English NEWS and Books which are international and most of the books are written in English which means that if I want to improve myself or want to educate myself as best as I can, I can read English books and the variety of it is enormous!
  • I can listen to news, mentors, coaches, videos, and music (which by the way, I didn't understand before but now every song makes sense!)
  • I can speak to people from all over the world, and we actually can have a conversation, and I can meet people who are sharing the same interest as I do, doesn't matter where they are from. Exchanging experiences and having a better understanding of how things work. Doing my videos in English gives me the opportunity to be known or get in contact with people from all over the world.
  • I can write my articles (Makeup, Life, Thoughts or Crypto) in English and everyone understands it!

Wow, amazing what this language did to me! I am grateful for it!

Negative:

  • Understanding too much
  • Knowing too much
  • Searching for answers too much
  • Thinking too much

In general, it can become too much. Since I read, listen, talk and write in English. Life has become much harder because I educate myself each and every time (in Makeup, News, Books, finding out the Truth, etc.) I can't switch off my brain anymore.

English1 - mvd.png
Source

Before knowing English, I just ‘’lived’’ my life without questioning everything. Now that I know the language, I can’t stop questioning things. The more I see behind the curtains, the more upset I’m getting.

I personally believe that English is the most spoken language – no, it’s not Mandarin (my opinion) just because there are 1.386 Billion of Chinese people doesn’t mean to me that this is the most spoken language worldwide because they are speaking it in China! If you can speak English, you can travel the world with it! That’s why my husband and I decided to learn English.

The next language that I want to learn is Spanish, it’s just a language that I feel connected with because you can use it in so many countries as well.

I also would love to learn Dutch since my family name is Dutch and I just can read and understand it if someone is speaking it, but I have no idea how to write or talk. My father never taught me how to speak it which is really sad but also understandable, but I will learn it!

Anyways, one step after the other and I’ll get there!

Thank you,

xoxo, Melissa

Follow me on Dlive
Follow me on Twitter
Follow me on Facebook
Subscribe to my YouTube Channel

ALL MAKEUP GEEKS, feel free to RESTEEM this article! Let's keep spreading the word with real life everyday makeup application!

Curie_Divider_upvote_BIG.png

Sort:  

Well done, within three short years you are writing excellent English

Someone once likened life to a train journey. The way you describe yourself before 'awakening' is as if you are a passenger who only looks inside the wagon where you are, instead of looking out the windows, enjoying the rich variety.

When you age, at least you'll be able to say, "I lived!" and will not have to cry at a life wasted.

@arthur.grafo Thank you, you've explained it so well that I don't have to add anything else :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77